Moving data from Wifi iPad to 3G iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by gopherhockey, May 6, 2010.

  1. gopherhockey macrumors regular

    gopherhockey

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #1
    I saw this question asked earlier and didn't see a good enough answer so I am posting same question.

    To clarify, I owned a Wifi version of iPad for a month, now have my 3G model. i want to take all the data on my wifi model and move it over to the 3G.. and yes, I will obviously sell the wifi model once I have done this.

    The issue is moving the data.

    I do not want to risk a restore because I think the 3G has different software for the 3G parts, so if I try a full restore won't this break?

    My guess is I have to plug it in as new and it will sync the apps but I'll have to tansfer manually any data between apps?

    Or does the restore of backed up info not touch the iPad OS?
     
  2. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    1. Sync your Wifi (this creates a backup).
    2. Plug in your 3g.
    3. Restore your 3g from the backup of your Wifi that you just made (it will let you choose this option).

    The first time I tried this, it gave me some error code and transferred over my apps but they wouldn't open.

    I reset the 3g iPad and tried again, and it worked, transferring all the programs & their data correctly too.
     
  3. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #3
    Restore from backup just restores app data and system settings, and does not affect the OS. I did this to move my data from WiFi to 3G and haven't had any problems.
     
  4. gopherhockey thread starter macrumors regular

    gopherhockey

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #4
    Sounds to me the restore doesn't touch the OS then. I will try what you did, thanks for the tip. Good to hear it worked for someone else.
     
  5. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #5
    You can restore from a backup of a different type of iPad. It doesn't clone the operating system, leaving the 3G unusable. It just backs up and syncs your data.
     

Share This Page