Resolved Moving data/progs from old machine to new one abroad

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DragonJade, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. DragonJade, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012

    DragonJade macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #1
    I've got a Unibody MacBook (running Snow Leopard) which I will be selling before I move abroad, and and will buy a MacBook Pro there.

    Migration Assistant doesn't seem to be any help in this case. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #2
    Do you have such a thing as an external HD/time capsule to play with?
     
  3. DragonJade thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #3
    Will have an external HD I can use. Are you going to suggest Time Machine? I though it only backed up user data.
     
  4. MRiOS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #4
    If your external is of larger capacity than the drive in your computer you can actually just make a clone of your current machine which can then be used when you go to set up your new machine. Setup Assistant will ask during the initial set up process if you would like to transfer information from an external source, all you have to do then is point it towards that clone backup and it should have no problem transferring over all apps and settings.
     
  5. DragonJade thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #5
    Great stuff. I shall be doing that, then. Many thanks!
     

Share This Page