Moving from iMac to mac mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by nzreg, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. nzreg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #1
    Hi I am hoping for advice on the best way to move the settings/programmes etc from my late 2009 iMac to my late 2012 mac mini.
    I have ML 10.8.1 on my iMac but I do understand that this is a different version from the 10.8.1 on the mini.
    I have researched this but haven't found an answer on how it can be done.
    A time machine backup wont do it and I have tried migration assistant, this does transfer the data but requires that I input all the serials etc for the many apps and programmes I have, this would be a right pain.:(
    All suggestions welcome.
     
  2. Tmoney64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #2
    I literally just this week moved from my late 09 iMac with Lion to new 2012 Mac mini. Migration assistant worked great. Did u have a particular example of an app not cooperating?
     
  3. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #3
    I also did this earlier this week, from my early 2009 iMac (running 10.8.2) to my new 2012 Mini (stuck at 10.8.1 for the time being).

    I first tried Migration Assistant going over my home network - waited a couple hours for it to finish, only to find out it had a problem and didn't migrate my main user account for some reason. So, I took the Time Machine drive I had connected via firewire to my iMac and plugged it into the firewire on the Mini and told Migration Assistant to do it's magic via a Time Machine backup. Everything came over that time. The only apps I had to re-enter keys for that I've found (so far) were Spiralbound and Little Snitch....and I run a ton of apps - even Office 2011 came over fine.
     
  4. nzreg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for the info, did you just do the second migration over the top of the first one or reload the os first?
     
  5. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #5
    Did the second over top of the first....since my main user account wasn't migrated there wasn't anything to lose. I figured if it got hosed I could always go back to a clean install and start again.
     
  6. nzreg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for advice will give it a try later today.
     

Share This Page