iPhone Moving from JB 4s to 5s and have a question about restoring

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bansheebeat, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. bansheebeat macrumors regular

    bansheebeat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #1
    How can I assure that moving from a JB phone to non JB will be a smooth transition? Will I have to set up my 5s as a brand new iPhone since all my backups will be JB?
     
  2. Serelus macrumors 6502a

    Serelus

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Vm9pZA
    #2
    Either 1 of 2 things will happen:

    1. you restore it from one of your JB backups and it'll fail to boot.
    2. it will work, it just won't be jailbroken..

    either way your fine if you save a backup to icloud.
     
  3. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #3
    Do you play games? I always AppBackup to backup all my App Store apps. Then whenever a new jailbreak comes out, I install app backup from Cydia and restore all my App Store apps to their identical state. It's a pretty easy process if your comfortable saving one folder off the device to your computer. You can do this manually but it's a much more unloved and very tedious process.
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    It's an even more tedious process but you could always cook up a custom restore package with your game save data and restore from that (using iBackupbot). I'm sure there are other tools out there too

    I personally don't care that much about game save data. And the ones I do seem to utilize some sort of cloud backup

    To the OP: generally speaking, you won't have any problems. I would say it helps if you made a backup after you removed all your jailbreak tweaks though. The only problem I would really see is that all the jailbreak junk and clutter will be placed on the new phone with no way to selectively remove them

    Meaning, you would have to start as new or cook up a custom restore package to remove the jailbreak junk or else your "other" would be higher than a non-jailbroken device
     
  5. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #5
    Yea that's the thing, some games use iCloud while others don't. App backup solves all those problems. Plus it can backup any App Store app so it's really useful. I like to back a handful of non-game apps as well. Then I jailbreak the new iOS and copy my AppBackup folder (it's actually called tarballz or something like that) to the device, and use app backup to restore them all to EXACTLY how they were before the restore. Snazzy little app haha.
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    What I was saying was that if you cook up the custom restore, you can selectively restore your game save data without even being jailbroken (assuming, you start new every time you update to the latest version)

    If I'm not mistaken, it's in the var/mobile/Library/Preferences folder (if anyone else is looking for where it's saved to). I haven't used AppBackup in quite some time
     
  7. bansheebeat thread starter macrumors regular

    bansheebeat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for all the advice. I tried to do the Appbackup thing but it was too tedious to really be worth it. All my important saved apps transferred just fine and the only JB apps I used where Infinidock, BiteSMS, Infinifolder, and SBSetting. None of which I'm worried about losing my preferences.
     
  8. DucMike macrumors member

    DucMike

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sacramento-area, CA
    #8
    I have a question in the same vein: I replaced my jb'd i4s with a new 5S & did a restore after backing up the old phone. Everything went fine for me & all my normal apps etc. were there. Once a jb comes out for iOS7 on the new devices, will backing my phone up again bring all my jb apps (SBSetting etc.) back, or will I have to redownload them all once again?
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    you need to redownload, but all the settings you had will be automaticaly applied.
    it is adviced to setup as new and start over to avoid any problems though.
     

Share This Page