Moving RAID 0 to a single drive in the RAID. Possible?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jdl8422, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I have a RAID 0 set up with two 1.5TB HDs. I am doing some reorganizing and want to take all the data on the RAID 0 and move it to one of the hard drives in the RAID 0 and create to single drives. Is there any way of moving all the data from a RAID 0 onto one of the HDs?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Backup your data, break up the RAID set, repartition/reformat and reload your data.

    You cannot access the individual RAID drive arrays, so you'll basically need to stop using RAID.
     
  3. jdl8422 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Thats what I thought, just was curious if there was some kind of program out there that could do it for me :D
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Yup,
    Time Machine for backups and Disk Utility for RAID :p
     
  5. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #5
    Since I think you mean to de-RAID the drive and leave your data sans-RAID, the answer is no.
     

Share This Page