All iPads Moving SIM iPad Mini 1 to Air

Discussion in 'iPad' started by SaddleSC, Nov 18, 2013.

  1. SaddleSC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #1
    I am sure this is an easy question to answer, but I was wondering…

    I currently own a first generation Mini with Verizon LTE. I have recently ordered a new Air that also has Verizon LTE.

    I only want to have one Verizon account (which is currently setup on my Mini). Would I be able to simply move the SIM from my first generation Mini right into the Air when it arrives? Is that the best way to move the account?

    Any insight is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Yep. Just swap the SIM.
     
  3. Fireball Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Fireball Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chigwell, England
    #3
    I'll be doing the same; EE sim from my mini to iPad Air (when it finally arrives...).
     
  4. outie2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    I don't know about Verizon, but for AT&T and T-mobile, you do not need to swap SIM. You just go through the Cellular setup wizard on the iPad and it should ask for your existing login. After you put in your existing login you should be good to go. At this time your old iPad's SIM will get deactivated.
     
  5. bwapod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #5
    I tried this going from a verizon ipad 3 to a verizon ipad air... Short story: I could USE the old verizon sim, but could not access the account management screen. I tried a plethora of menu/account settings, to no avail. I ended up canceling the old sim (via the ipad 3) and activating the new sim in the Air.

    I also know first hand that moving SIM cards between iPads is much easier with AT&T and T-mobile. Verizon seems to be a very "special" type of headache.
     
  6. jonfarr macrumors 6502a

    jonfarr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Portland
    #6
    I just swited the sim on my ATT mini to the retina att mini and nothing more needed, it worked.
     

Share This Page