Moving software to new SSD and HDD in my MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Genzg, Jun 17, 2012.

1. Genzg, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012

Genzg macrumors newbie

Was hoping to get some advice on my pendIng upgrade to a new HD and SSD in my mid-2010 13" MacBook Pro. I'm very confident in my installation abilities but I'm a novice when it comes to moving software and programs.

Here's the set-up ill be working with:
    Mid-2010 13" MacBook pro (1.7)
    New 750gb 7200 rpm HDD in original bay
    New 128gb SSD in old optical drive bay

What I want to do is run OS X (lion for now) and applications off of the SSD while keeping 'data hogs' on the 750gb. I've read probably 10 different ways to do this from cloning HDD to SSD while keeping the user folder on the HDD, or clean install of lion on the SSD then using migration assistant to pull the apps over.

I want to make sure I'm moving the right stuff over to the SSD so that I can take full advantage of it. I also dont want excess crap on the 750 especially since I'll have a bootable copy on my old drive.

What should I put on the SSD? How should I get it there? If I do a clean install of lion on the SSD do I just migrate the applications using the migration assistant from my original HDD and then migrate whatever's left onto the new HDD?

So many questions.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. The drives and enclosures are showing up tomorrow and I'm looking forward to getting them up and running.

Thanks

2. LeGacY X macrumors member

LeGacY X