Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AcesHigh87

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 11, 2009
New Brunswick, Canada
So, to keep this story brief the 1TB HDD I’ve been using as my backup drive for the past 3 years (3 years with macbook, 1 with iMac but anyway) is full, and I’m fairly certain dying for that matter. To make sure I didn’t lose all my backups I went out and bought a new 3TB drive.

Well, I set this new drive up as my time machine drive, no issue there. It took awhile but it has now ran a successful backup of my iMac. However I want to have all my old backups as well (and the macbook ones for that matter) in case I need to go in and get an old file; this being a feature I love in Time Machine. I figured I’d just go in, grab the old backups, and drag them onto the new drive but that doesn’t work; claiming I don’t have permission.

Figuring it was probably just a fail safe I went into the info for both backup folders (the old drive and the new one) and switched the staff permissions to read & write. However I still get the same error message when trying to move the folders over.

So, to sum everything up. Is there any way to transfer old TM backups to a new HDD? I just don’t want my old drive to die (again, as I expect to happen soon) and then I find myself with no older backups.

AcesHigh87

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 11, 2009
New Brunswick, Canada

So based off reading that it seems like I need to copy my entire backup folder over? That in itself sounds fine but then will I need to re-do that entire first backup again? I would preferably like to avoid that since it took several hours.

Or, once I transfer the old one over, will it just act like it was on that drive the whole time and only backup new data?

LaWally

macrumors 6502a
Feb 24, 2012