Moving Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Macnoviz, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #1
    Hi,

    I just bought a 500 GB external harddrive (iomega ).
    Now I want to move my Time Machine files from my smaller external HD (200 GB Lacie) to my new one, however, he does not seem to respond when dragging the backups.backupdb folder to the HD. Only folders starting at "macintosh HD", inside a dated folder can be copied.

    Is there a way to copy everything at once? Or do I individually copy the macintosh HD folders to my new drive and recreate the folder structure?
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    You may have to show the hidden files to copy everything (not sure).
     
  3. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #3
    Thanks, but I found the problem: the problem is in the way the backup is structured (don't ask me how), and the best way seems to be using SuperDuper to copy one drive to another.
     
  4. Arjy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #4
    Might be best just to start a new backup on the new drive.
     
  5. /\/\ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    I think this is not really useful. I think when you backup on the new drive, the current situation (files now) will be backuped. And there will be no history later then toady.
     

Share This Page