Moving to a new house - need wireless/setup recommendations

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BrianInLA, Nov 2, 2013.

  1. BrianInLA macrumors member

    BrianInLA

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    First of all, thanks in advance for any replies that may be submitted.

    Backstory:

    - Moving from a 900 sf condo
    - Airport extreme is the main router; older Linksys for Vonage
    - Synology NAS
    - Home phone is VOIP (though Vonage service noted above)
    - Cable/Internet has been through Comcast/Xfinity; DVR is TiVo
    - Airport Express provides streaming to stereo receiver

    - Moving to an ~2,500 SF single family home; three levels; family room will most likely be in the basement; home office either on the second or third floor
    - The house is a gut rehab, but they did not run any cable or ethernet outlets through the entire place
    - Considering the switch to DirecTV and the Genie
    - Possible internet providers would be Comcast or AT&T

    Thoughts on potential setup for internet access and coverage? My initial thought is going with DirecTV wired from the dish to the TV in the basement. Run Internet to somewhere and then go wireless throughout the house.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I have the Uverse package TV, Internet, Phone..I luv it..

    internet is fast...TV clear as a bell..no downtime..
     
  3. BrianInLA thread starter macrumors member

    BrianInLA

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    I should probably clarify as well.

    Big questions are: Where should I run the internet connection to in the house, is it going to matter? Do I run it to the entertainment system 'area' so I can directly connect a BluRay player and other devices and not have them wireless?

    What do I do in order to expand wireless coverage throughout the house?
     
  4. oldhifi, Nov 2, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013

    oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I would think your installer would put in on the 2nd floor..but I have mine in the basement and the wi fi works everywhere, even outside..my bill is $206 a month thats all channels..
     

Share This Page