Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

R.Youden

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 1, 2005
Well I am looking into moving to America from the UK. I have been over a couple of times in the last year and the whole way of life over there suits me more than England (never thought I would say that but England is going to the wall at the moment).

I am a qualified electronics engineer and have a few contacts so I am trying to get something sorted out for a job.

Anyway has anyone else done that and moved to the US?

How difficult was it, do you have any tips etc...

R.Youden

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 1, 2005
What area of the country are you looking to move to?

Oh yeah that would help wouldn't it!

I not overly bothered truth be told, I have been along the East coast and spent some time in Kansas. I think the New England states would be more like what I am used to but I thought Kansas was cool so pretty much wherever I can get a job. I have friends in Delaware and Kansas City so I guess those two would be my first aim.

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
I'm not up to speed on what's available in Delaware, but a lot of major corporations (Sprint, Garmin, a few others I can't remember) with need for electrical engineers have their headquarters in and around Kansas City. I have family there... it's not a bad area if you don't mind driving literally everywhere.

In any case good luck. Recent laws have made it a lot more difficult for foreign nationals to get work visas, which is really a shame. I don't really know how that would all play out though, so I might be wrong.

R.Youden

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 1, 2005