Moving to LA!!!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by abijnk, Mar 12, 2008.

1. abijnk macrumors 68040

abijnk

Its official! I am moving to LA in May! My fiance and I got jobs there, so we are both really excited. I wanted to ask those more familiar with the area than I what the "decent" neighborhoods are, recommendations anyone??

Now, before this turns into some debate about "why would you want to move to LA anyways!?" Just know that I have already lived there briefly last summer while I was an intern. I lived in Marina Del Rey then, so I know what that area is like, and I like it quite well. I also like the Manhattan, Hermosa, and Redondo area, and have started looking for apartments through westsiderentals.com.

So I put out the question to those who currently or previously have lived there, what are other decent areas, and can you point me to good places to search for apartments??

Thanks!!!

2. CHROMEDOME macrumors regular

I remember I went down to LA for a weekend with my parents about 2 years ago. We stayed in Santa Monica and I hated it, it wasn't my first time in LA but I was older and man I hated everything about it. We went to a taping of Wheel of Fortune and there were 2 chicks with fake blonde hair and fake boobs in front of us in line, and the guy behind was practicing lines for some play or audition or something. To me that was like the prime definition of LA.

Fast forward to right now, I've lived here since August, go to Cal State Nothridge, and I love LA. Plus the Valley is probably the most boring part of LA but I really like it none the less.

Craigslist is always good, I'm looking for a house to live in next year and I've been lurking it everyday.

Where are your going to be working? LA is pretty big and obviously traffic is ridiculous, so I would suggest living as close to place of employment as possible.

I live in the San Fernando Valley, its very flat and the roads are too straight but its pretty cool.

3. dmr727 macrumors G3