Moving to Mac Pro, advice needed!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by grapefruitmoon, Jan 12, 2009.

1. grapefruitmoon macrumors newbie

OK, I was hoping for new Mac Pro's to be announced last week, but no joy! Anyway, I need one very soon, so I'm about to purchase. However, I have a few requirements I've like to discuss with you knowledgeable people!

Basically, I'm replacing a fairly high-powered PC, which is on it's last legs. My current set up is PC, 2 monitors, speakers, webcam, backing up daily to a Time Capsule. I also have a TV card (Hauppauge) which a UK Sky TV digi box is feeding into. So I'll be replacing the PC with the Mac, and need it to work in pretty much the same way. What TV card options do I have?

Also, I'm a SQL Server developer, and I'm thinking I'll need to use BootCamp when in development. Although I will use VMWare Fusion too (I use that on my MBP). Is it reasonable to think I could run a large Fusion VM (say 60Gb?) instead of having to use BootCamp?

I like to have the dual monitors set-up, can Fusion span across two like Windows? And how does Spaces work with 2 monitors, I can't quite figure that one out! On my MBP I have 4 Spaces set up, would like the same on the Pro.

My current PC has 1 160Gb 10,000 rpm SATA drive, and 2 320Gb 7,200 rpm SATA drives, can I put these in the Mac Pro?

I think I need about 4Gb-6Gb RAM, what are my best options here?

TIA!

2. millar876 macrumors 6502a

millar876

There are a few USB tv sticks that work on macs, just have o look in tha adds part of macformat magazine, they to RF analogue and DVB (freeview) cards. the software is top notch (according to reviews, I got a tv in the same room as my mac so no need)

cant say about SQL development sorry.

Fusion and Parallels can span 2 screens, they also have a unity view where the vista or XP windows apear over the OSX desktop (like normal finder windows) allowing mixed sets of windows.