Moving WD TB Velociraptor DUO Drives to Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fastlanephil, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    I'll be getting a 5.1 2009 MacPro to replace my 2011 iMac so my Western Digital Thundetbolt Velociraptor Duo won't be compatible. After doing a fresh back up of the drives I believe I can reconfigure them as JOBD with the WD utility software and then I'll install them in slots #2 & #3. Then I Should be able reconfigure them for RAID 0, even if I end up having to reformat them, using Apple's Disk Utility and copy the files back onto them from the backup drive.

    Any possible problems here?
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    You mentioned that you are getting a Mac Pro 5,1 2009. I just wanted to make sure that you know that even when a Mac Pro 4,1 is flash with the hacked 5,1 EFI that it is still technically a 4,1 and not a 5,1. A hacked 5,1 EFI does not make a 4,1 magically become a 5,1. It is possible that you already knew this so please disregard is that is the case.

    Now for your question. Once the drives are backed up you don't have to do anything with them using the WD utility since you will be using Disk Utility to create the RAID array and then to format the array.
     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    I'm curious, what were the differences between the 4,1 and 5,1 besides the firmware and CPU options? Were there any other differences?

    Besides that, +1 on the drive advice.
     
  4. brand, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Moving WD TB Velociraptor DUO Drives to Mac Pro



    Physically, the Mac Pro 4,1 dual socket board is designed for processors without the integrated heat sink (IHS) where the Mac Pro 5,1 is designed for the processors with the IHS.



    After the Mac Pro 4,1 is flashed with the hacked 5,1 EFI the SMC version is still that of a 4,1. That is the widely believed reason that putting a processor board from a 5,1 into a 4,1 causes the fans to run at full speed.



    I am not aware of any other differences than these.
     
  5. fastlanephil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #5
    Yes, I thought I might be able to install them as is. Thanks!

    As far as the fans running full speed. I haven't read any reports of this as a given issue after doing the hack and CPU upgrade and I have researched this pretty extensively. I have read that there is a difference how the hacked 5.1 2009 and the 2010 Mac Pro address higher end graphic cards. This might be the issue your're refering to that causes the ramping up of the GPU fans?

    This will be a DAW computer and I don't game so I'll just be using the stock ATI Radeon 5770 GPU with two displays.
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Moving WD TB Velociraptor DUO Drives to Mac Pro


    One of the few times that the fans will run at full speed is if you put a 5,1 processor board in a 4,1 and I don't think you have done that so you should have nothing to worry about there. Another time fans can also run at full speed is if the installation of the upgraded processors is done improperly.

    I never mentioned anything about the graphic cards since they function the same way between the 4,1, the hacked 4,1, and the 5,1.

    The point I was trying to make is that you are calling it a 5,1 2009 and that technically it is still a 4,1 that only thinks that if is a 5,1. Because of hardware differences and SMC version differences a 4,1 can never truly be turned into a 5,1.
     
  7. fastlanephil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #7
    Understood. I guess as long as an Apple update/upgrade doesn't shatter it's illusion I should be fine. Backing up before updating or upgrading the OS is probably always a good idea for any user. I'll yellow stickie that one.
     

Share This Page