Moving WoW from Mac OS to Windows

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by 7254278, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. 7254278 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I wan to play WoW on my bootcamp partition and not on OS X. Is there any way of doing that with out re installing?
     
  2. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #2
    No.

    Like any other applications/programs. You need to install it in the appropriate OS before you can use it.
     
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    What are the perks of not reinstalling? Doesn't all your characters, etc. live on Blizzard's servers?
     
  4. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #4
    That is true. I had uninstalled WoW a while back and my account was frozen. Months later I installed it again and re-opened my account. Everything was there.

    I've uninstalled it again since.
     
  5. quackattack macrumors 6502a

    quackattack

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    #5
    Is there an advantage to running this on the Windows partition instead of the OSX partition?
     
  6. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #6
    While the characters and all of their gear is stored on the servers, the UI settings, macros, and key bindings are stored on your computer. There is a folder named "WTF" where all this information is saved and should be able to be copied between Windows and OS X. I know I've copied it between my Macs before to keep from writing my macros again.
     
  7. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    No in fact running it on the Windows parittion is worse. WoW is one of the few games that runs equally well on both. On some systems people CLAIM to get a 5-10FPS increase but these have never been proven and with the new WoW engine I think it is moot anyway.

    In fact, running WoW in OS X gives you EXTRA options that the Windows client doesn't have. There is a whole "Mac Options" tab but there is no "Windows Options" tab in the Windows client. It is a little gift from Blizzard to OS X users since Blizzard uses Mac's to code the game itself. These options include things like built in iTunes controls and a built in video capturing system.

    Why someone would want to put a game that one plays off an on in Windows is beyond me. Windows is better for TF2 and stuff but any game that I can run decently in OS X I will because dual-booting is a PITA.
     
  8. motoxpress macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #8
    This is not my experience with the MBP. It runs slower in OS X by 20%. I have seen the same thing in other MBPs as well. Just what I have observed.

    -mx
     
  9. tYsopz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    Just copy your "Interface" and "WTF" folders from your mac to the corresponding directory in windows and addons and such shouldn't be a problem. I've done this multiple times when on LAN.
     

Share This Page