MP 1,1 cycling reboot

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RhianB, Apr 28, 2018.

Tags:
  1. RhianB, Apr 28, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2018

    RhianB macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #1
    when I went to use my 1,1 MP running elcap this morning, I got an unresponsive black screen. Then when I went to reboot, I got no chime + black screen. At this point I reset SMC from which I did got a chime but then it just cycles over & over.

    This is where I'm at now. Steps taken so far include:

    SMC reset
    Lobo reset
    Ram dimm & card reseat
    Monitor test (OK with my powerbook)
    GPU reseat
    GPU new PCIe slot
    LED test button (located in ram bay) showed no CPU/Sleep warning LEDs. power and trickle were on as the computer was cycling.

    So at this point, I'm sorta stumped so thought Id put it out to you guys for thoughts. I thought that as this is a hackered elcap install on a 1,1, that a corrupted file of some sort is causing it to hang and reboot (has been solid for the past 5 months) but am at a loss as to how to get the cdrom door open to install a more appropriate OS like SL or Lion. It is unresponsive via the keyboard.

    Any thoughts on how to proceed? Thanks!
     
  2. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    I’d suspect that perhaps the latest security update installed on you. So that’s where I’d check first. Look at the thread in here about installing El Capitan on the old Mac Pro. It’s discussed heavily in the last few pages of the thread.

    The security update causes the problem you describe. And it is able to be fixed using the tips in that discussion.
     
  3. RhianB thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #3
    Thanks! Will do!
     
  4. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #4

Share This Page