MP 2009 and Metal GPUs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Loa, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. Loa macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #1
    Hello,

    I don't know how many people here play World of Warcraft on a classic Mac Pro, but I'll ask the question anyway. The next WoW patch (coming in a few weeks) requires a Metal compatible Mac. That officially puts my 2009 MP out.

    But what if I buy a Metal compatible GPU for my MP? Would that work? (I currently use 10.13, if that makes a difference.)

    Thanks
     
  2. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    It definitely should work just fine, I’m guessing you’ve already done the firmware upgrade to get you to 10.13, with this it opens up many options to metal capable gpus like the RX series that’s plug n play after 10.13.4, I have an rx 560 that I upgraded from my Radeon HD 5770 in my 2010 Mac Pro and it fully supports metal, I can play games like fortnite that require the metal API and don’t support open GL. As long as you’re sure that whatever GPU you upgrade to supports metal, you shouldnt run into any issues.
     
  3. Loa, Jun 24, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018

    Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Great news!

    Any idea which cheap GPU would do the trick? I currently use an old 6870 and it's alright for my needs. Can I assume that any card of the current RX series are more powerful?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 24, 2018 ---
    Ok. After doing some research, I'm hesitating between the rx 550 and the GT 1030. Besides Wow, the only other app I use that might require some GPU power is Photoshop (CC 2015 version).

    Will both cards be plug and play on a 2009 MP with 10.13?

    Thanks.
     
  4. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    Keep in mind when upgrading gpu’s, unless you’re getting a flashed card, you won’t have a boot screen, boot screen (flashed) gpu’s will allow you to boot into recovery mode and startup manager and all that but they come at a much higher cost. Cards like the 7970 Mac edition will serve you well if you want that boot screen but it’s quite pricey. If the boot screen is something you don’t care about, I can’t help but reccomend the rx 560, that comes at a reasonably lower price than most GPU’s and supports metal well, I have experience with it and it works flawlessly for me after 10.13.4, if you’re looking for something more high end, go for the rx 570 or 80 but those are much more expensive because of bitcoin mining but they offer more power. My rx 560 works great for games like csgo and a bunch of other esports games I don’t have much experience with WoW but I’m guessing it’s not too demanding, that gpu should work just fine for you. Another thing to remember is to avoid XFX and favour brands like sapphire, sapphires are well knows to work in macs and XFX cards are not. Good luck searching!
     
  5. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #5
    Thanks for the info.

    I'll probably get the 550 as I only need metal compatibility. I also have my stock GT120 handy for when I need a boot screen...

    (But I realized that I only have 10.13 on my laptop, not my MP, and install didn't go well. It crashes on boot... I'm starting another thread for advice.)
     
  6. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #6
    Warning warning please read this DONT buy the 550! It doesn’t work and has no support! It’s a new addition to the series and it’s not supported! I’ve tried it before and it didn’t work!
     
  7. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #7
    Ha! Thanks for the heads up!

    In that case, the GT1030 seems like a much better deal for my needs. Do you know if it works just like the 560?
     
  8. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #8
    There’s very little info on it but if you can do the research online and feel comfortable enough using NVIDIA web drivers with it, it may or may not work. And even if it does work, it won’t be plug and play and may not support metal!
     
  9. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #9
    Ok. I'll stick with the 560. But it's quite a lot more expensive than the 1030 and even the small 1030 would be more powerful than I need.
     
  10. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #10
    I intend to find out if the GT 1030 works with a flashed 4,1 next week (away from computer this week). There is a YouTube video with a guy running it, so it should be doable.
     
  11. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
  12. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #12
    Hello,

    Quick question: do I have to upgrade to 10.13 to be able to take advantage of Metal compatible GPUs? I don't really want or need 10.13. Would a rx560 work on 10.12.6?
     
  13. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #13
    It works on Sierra, but with possible problems like screen artifacting, not waking up from going to sleep and countless other problems that are fixed in 10.13.4+
     
  14. Loa thread starter macrumors 65832

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #14
    Ok. I'll try installing 10.13 again, but if it fails, I'll give 10.12 + Metal GPU a try.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  15. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #15
    So far, no joy.

    OSX sees the card, but no matter what I do, it won't load the drivers. I have checked those, I have the correct driver for my build number, I have reset the pram, & I have the web driver selected. I reboot and the system drops back to the installed Nvidia drivers.

    I am sure it is something simple, but whatever it is, I can't get it working....
     

Share This Page