MP 2009 with Sapphire HD 7950

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yippi, Mar 7, 2014.

  1. yippi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #1
    I have the 2009 MP and recently installed the Sapphire HD 7950. This card shows the unpleasant behaviour of letting the monitor black until the user selection appears. If I try to select the startup disk (pressing "option" upon start), the screen stays black and I cannot select any boot volume.


    OK, fine, this wouldn't be too big a problem, if I wouldn't need to switch to my bootcamp drive from time to time.

    Does anybody know how to solve this conundrum?
     
  2. jimj740, Mar 7, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014

    jimj740 macrumors regular

    jimj740

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pining for the company that once gave us Clarus
    #2
    Did you buy the Mac edition of this card?

    If so, the ROM switch is in the wrong position...

    If not, go to the netkas.org site and read the thread on flashing the ROM to support efi.

    Good luck,

    -JimJ
     
  3. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    You have to flash the card for use with EFI.
     
  4. yippi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #4
    Yes, it was supposed to be the Mac edition. when logged in, it works fine and is fast. It Is just on boot that the black screen stays until the account selection screen.

    OS 10.8.5
     
  5. jimj740 macrumors regular

    jimj740

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pining for the company that once gave us Clarus
    #5
    There are MANY reports of this card being shipped with the ROM selector switch in the "PC" position, even though it is specifically marketed for the Macintosh. Consult your manual to see where this switch is located, move it to the other position, and restart your machine. Let us know if it works!

    Good luck,
    -JimJ
     
  6. yippi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #6
    You are right: It turned out the miscroscopically small EFI-BIOS switch at the side of the card was in the wrong position (PC) even though on the it said Mac EFI position is default. It was not. Now everything is fine.

    Thanks to all of you fine people.
     

Share This Page