MP 3,1 (08) - Installing El Capitan, opinons?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Omega Mac, Jun 13, 2017.

  1. Omega Mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #1
    Considering repurposing an old 3,1 MP 2008 and installing El Capitan.

    Currently installed Snow leopard on a Mirror SATA I'm wondering should I step up to Mavericks or Lion and then move up again to EL Cap or should I simply do a clean install to El Cap from USB boot drive?

    No programs to worry about currently.

    Pro's & Cons' welcome in advance. Thanks.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    You don't need to install any interim versions of OS X to get to El Capitan, and you don't need to do a clean install either, unless you really want to. You do need to have a backup in case something goes wrong.
     
  3. weezerr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #3
    Im running El Capitan on my 3,1. No issues. Can go directly to it.

    Kinda crazy that this almost 10 year old machine still works like a champ for day to day casual use.
     
  4. devon807 macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    El Cap ran flawlessly on my 3,1 before I sold it. It was the most solid OS that ran on it imo. Making a bootable USB would be the best way to do it of you are doing a clean install.
     
  5. Omega Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #5
    Great thanks for the feedback.

    I'll fire up Diskmaker X once I'll remove the mirror to do a clean install because I'd like to try RAID 0 the OS drives as 80GB SSD, intel 2 if I remember. I'm interested to see how performance shapes up.
     
  6. honeycombz macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #6
    El Cap great on 3,1. Just make sure you have an SSD for your boot. Upgrading your GPU to support metal is a nice addition as well.
     
  7. kevinhooke macrumors newbie

    kevinhooke

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #7
  8. Omega Mac, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017

    Omega Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #8
    Done, fast and without a hitch! Superb!!!
    --- Post Merged, Jun 21, 2017 ---
    What card do you recommend?

    I upgraded it in 2013 with a Radeon HD6850... for some bitcoin mining fun (but that didn't go too far) and after some research seemed to be as far as you might take the the 3,1 GPU upgrade.

    It would be great to think there might be an even more up to date GPU option than this!
     
  9. honeycombz macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #9
    The GTX 680 2GB is great, supports metal and doesn’t break the bank but some of it depends on what you want to do. I got mine of ebay already flashed for Mac so I didn’t have to mess around with anything other than installing Cuda and NVidia drivers. If you want to flash it yourself you can definitely get it for less. The 680 also comes in 4GB but that seemed like overkill for my needs.
     
  10. Omega Mac, Jun 25, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2017

    Omega Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #10
    Why I just found this very useful website, seem the 3,1 can take any card the 4,1 and 5,1 can but you might not get the benefit of the higher end cars.

    MACVIDCARDS.COM > http://www.macvidcards.com/i-want-the-best-graphics-card-for-my-mac-pro-where-do-i-start.html

    No connection to the site but they even sell cards. Nice simple and to the point site.
     
  11. weezerr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #11
    the bigger question is if its worth hacking high sierra onto the 3,1 once it goes final
     
  12. Omega Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #12
    Actually that's a thing. How come in App Update it suggest Sierra when that machine is debarred by Apple, it's an awful tease and might lead to some confusion and disappointment from some.
     
  13. weezerr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #13
    It is possible to install Sierra so I assume high sierra will also be able to be installed. Requires a work around though as not officially apple supported.
     
  14. honeycombz macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #14
  15. Omega Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #15
    A little update:

    The El Capitan drive is no longer selectable in the target disk to reboot on a restart. Nor did holding down "alt" when booting bring up drives to select boot drive, say if I wanted to boot from thumb drive/ext drive.

    Perhaps something has corrupted in the SL boot up. If I disable that drive the El Capitan drive will boot fine.
     

Share This Page