MP 3,1 with GeForce GT 1030 for HEVC?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by inputoutput, Feb 2, 2019.

  1. inputoutput macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 3,1 that I would like to get hardware HEVC decoding working on. I have some 4k videos encoded with HEVC that do not play smoothly on my machine and max out the cpu. It seems as though the GeForce GT 1030 supports HEVC, is cheap and can be flashed to work in a Mac but im curious if anyone has any experience with this? Also I am currently running a GTX 680 4GB in this machines only PCIe x16 slot. So I would be putting the GT 1030 in a x4 slot. I currently run a 2nd gpu (gt 120) to my tv on a x4 slot and it works fine (just no 4k hevc).

    Sooo if anyone has any insight as to if this would work I would appreciate the info! Btw the GT 1030 would only be used to play video on my tv. All other gpu related tasks i use my gtx 680.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    GPU HEVC hardware acceleration doesn't work on macOS.
     
  3. startergo macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #3
  4. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
  5. inputoutput thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #5
    Are you saying that it never worked for 3,1 with nvidia or are you saying it would work with 3,1 and nvidia?
     
  6. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
  7. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Never work for any 3,1 (regardless which GPU) in any macOS.

    Never work for any Nvidia GPU (regardless which Mac) in any MacOS.

    However, you can boot Windows or Linux, then the hardware decoding should work as expected.
     
  8. inputoutput thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #8
    Im not trying to transcode or encode, im would like to decode via gpu hardware. Seems like some users have been able to get it working with certain configurations.
    Thanks for the info, guess I'll have to boot to windows!
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I think he mean you can transcode the video to ProRes, then you will able to play it smoothly (of course, the video size will be much much much bigger than the original one. And you will need some high speed storage to allow for smooth playback).

    I've done some test. The cMP can easily play 4K 60FPS HEVC 10bit HDR BT2020 video smoothly with extremely low CPU usage via GPU hardware decode. But only in 10.14.0 (including some beta).
    HEVC fashion.jpg

    Since 3,1 cannot run Mojave natively, and cannot load the Polaris / Vega Mojave driver natively. Which means the 3,1 cannot use any HEVC hardware decode in macOS.

    I've submitted this request to Nvidia. This request end up passed to the development team. However, they can't even release the web driver in Mojave at this moment. I don't think this "new function" will be available to Mac users in foreseeable future.
     
  10. inputoutput thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    #10
    Interesting, thanks for the information. Have you done any experimenting with dosdude1 patch to run mojave on 3,1? I have used his patch to install sierra on my 3,1 and it works very well. I have been thinking of trying his mojave patch to install on my 3,1. Other users on this site have had success with 3,1 gtx680 and mojave using his patch. That wouldnt solve the nividia support issue but it would be interesting to see...
     
  11. tsialex, Feb 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019

    tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #11
    MP3,1 Xeons don't have SSE4.2, so no AMD driver for GCN GPUs can work since it's compiled with SSE4.2 after Sierra. So, no AMD GCN GPUs, every AMD GPU since HD 7xxx, can work with Mojave and MP3,1.

    Mojave GPU HEVC hardware decode only worked for RX-580 and later GPUs on a MP5,1.
     
  12. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #12
    The GTX 680 will run circles around the 1030, in every task. Just use it. It'll decode video in Windows, too.
     
  13. Nick [D]vB macrumors newbie

    Nick [D]vB

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    #13
    FYI - Netkas just fixed the RX 560 Mojave driver for MP 3,1 !

    http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,13890.0.html

    Should work with the WhatEverGreen iMacPro ID hack to enable HEVC etc.
     

Share This Page

12 February 2, 2019