MP 8800 GT DVI <---> DVI Dell U2711 monitor not working

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slater-k, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. slater-k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    So it turns out that the Dell U2711 monitor that i just bought requires a dual link DVI card ... :eek::eek::eek:

    My 2008 MP with 8800GT card doesn't seem to be up to scratch! It requires a DVI Dual link graphics card

    Will this DVI <-> Display Port adaptor work? I was thinking of taking it out of the DVI port on the card, into the adaptor, and then display port into the monitor. (VGA obviously works, but is obviously blurry!)

    Or would i need to return the monitor / get a different card?
    Many thanks
     
  2. slater-k, Mar 4, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013

    slater-k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    but according to this page the 8800GT is dual link!

    So does that mean the card's broken (i've tested the monitor with a 2012 MP, and that works fine), though having said that the card works with the previous monitor via DVI). In system info, the monitor is showing up, just that on the monitor itself, it's a black screen, and says no input detected.

    Can anyone tell me if they've had a u2711 working with a 8800GT?
     
  3. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #3
    I can confirm that I had a u2711 working with my 8800gt for a while before I replaced the card with the 5770.

    I had both the u2711 and u2312 both working off the one card with no problems at all.

    Hope it helps.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    make sure your DVI cable is Dual Link.

    There are single link ones which have a bunch of pins missing in the middle.
     
  5. slater-k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Thanks Guys, that's good to know that it should be working! Also, it is a dual link DVI cable. So i guess it's a mystery!

    I'm contemplating getting a 5770. It would be nice to have, and if it cures this problem, i'll be happy with the monitor - rather than returning it, for a problem that might not be within the monitor.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page