MP, iMac for heavy photo editing - budget constrained

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by blackmtn, Mar 17, 2010.

1. blackmtn macrumors member

Hello all, I've been lurking here for the last few months trying to determine the answer to my question, but haven't really come to a decision so finally thought I'd throw out a few questions for some opinions!

Usage:
    I am an amateur photographer but have lately been working myself into a bit of a niche that requires more computer than I currently have.

I use Aperture 3 as my bread and butter editor/DAM and use PS for specific fixes. I am finding my current computer slow for this. However, I have been working towards multi-stitching landscapes, which requires stitching together upwards of 9-12 photos and pretty much grinds my current computer to a halt, both when stitching and when trying to edit them.

Computer Choices:
    I have been looking at the iMac 27" with either the i5 or i7, and from a raw power perspective I think they are enough, but the screen very much concerns me (yellow tint etc). I'm still working on a 20" iMac with a matte screen and don't relish the thought of a glossy one either.

Mac Pro would be nice from an expandability point of view, but I don't know that I would really push its limits in terms of raw power. I would also be able to choose a proper display, something like the NEC 2690 (http://www.necdisplay.com/Products/Product/?product=e46df7f2-40d7-4b16-b6ed-9c444e398f11). Biggest draw-back here is price. I am budget constrained to around 3k, so I would either be stuck with a smaller monitor or a much older refurb/second hand MP.