MP+Photoshop CS 3+Memory?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macinposh, May 4, 2007.

  1. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #1
    So,this dumbass has a question,so step up if you know the answah!!


    Working with a macpro (4x3.0ghz) with 2 GB memory.

    With photoshop CS2 the normal memory allocation showed that normally (5 pics,each of 72MB) the memory load was at 1.4GB of 2GB in use.
    Like,always.
    Memory allocation was 80%.

    Now,with the CS3, the memory use is around 600MB when workin with similar pics. The mem.allocation is 80%.

    So,is the CS 3 so much more effective in memory use than CS 2.

    Would there be increase in performance if i would get more memory,say 2-4GB,as now it seems that I dont even use all the mem that I have?!!



    *****..this is complicated..
     
  2. Counter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #2
    I'm not sure, but it could be cos CS2 is running through Rosetta?
     
  3. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #3
    A good rule I keep in mind when buying ram is to watch the page outs in the activity monitor. If the page outs are high, then you are swapping to the HD.

    Page outs get rather high on my powerbook with 1.25gb of ram, but are often 0 on my Mac Pro with 5Gb of ram (until heavy Aperture + Photoshop usage).

    The screen cap below is from the Powerbook.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    But what is classed as 'high' page outs? It is all relative surely...

    What is the ratio of ins/outs that is considered high...?

    Rich.
     
  5. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #5
    Foo/0 is considered the best.

    Any number higher than 0 means your memory is insufficient and the computer needed to use the hard drive as virtual memory (much much slower).

    This number grows from each reboot, so if you have one moment of large memory access but operate within your memory limits the other 99% of the time it could be a little deceiving. If, however, it is actively paging during normal use (or your typical application usage, in your case Photoshop), then it is time to move on up.
     
  6. Macinposh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #6
    Cheers!! Thats a good one.Hadn´t tought about that.



    What setup do you have?
    And under what kind of loads do your MP start to use swap?
    What is your heavy use?



    I´m a lightroom+Photo cs3 user,so it would be groovy to have some kind of reference.
    I just was baffled that the mem usage was so low,and i couldnt get it higher .
    Weird.
    I mean,how the heck can the mem usage be like 600mb,when the pictures alone are 375MB (5x75mb), and on the working photo i have 2-4 layers??
    Does the photoshop only keep the "under work" photo stored in the memory,or all open photos? Or does it keep the unused photos on disk?
     
  7. Jebaloo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #7
    Hey, I've never attached an image before, so it may not work, but this screen shots shows what usage I have on my MacBook, when I'm not doing very much. Only got a few programs open, and none of them are doing anything.

    Picture 1.png

    What do you think that this means? Is it too high (slightly pointless question since my MacBook is as full of memory as it can be, but just out of interest).
     
  8. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #8
    1. Mac Pro 2.66, 5Gb ram.
    2/3. Aperture Exports while working in PS.

    Not exactly sure how it all works in CS3.

    It's swapping a decent amount. If you could get more memory in there you would likely see a performance increase, but only during times when your memory is saturated. At the time of this screenshot you have almost 500MB of spare ram and would not benefit from extra.

    P.S. Can't you put a 2GB DDR2 stick in the Macbook to hit 3GB? I know the MBP can handle that amount.
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Ratio of under 10% Outs to Ins is what you want to see, under 5% is desirable.
     

Share This Page