MP will not start (almost). Any advice?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gxgn, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. gxgn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I have a 2009 2.8 quad MP, 16GB. For the last 3-5 months my computer is very reluctant to start.

    I have to press the start button once, keep it pressed a bit, hear a little click noise, release the button, press it again and keep it a bit longer and then it will start.

    It doesn't matter if it's a cold start or a wake up from sleep - same issue.
    I did try to reset the NVram, SMC, unplug etc. It doesn't work.

    Has anyone else seen this issue?

    thanks
    George
     
  2. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
  3. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Hello,

    I agree: power supply. Can you take one from another Mac Pro to test? (not an easy thing to switch, but cheaper than bringing it to an Apple Store)

    Loa
     
  4. gxgn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #4
    I wish I had a way to test it. I don't know anyone else with a MP and I live pretty far from the store.
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Excuse me if I am mistaken, but can some Mac Pros boot without a graphics card? I know you can't use the machine when it is running "headless" but it would reduce the load on the power supply significantly and be useful as a test.

    Disconnect any non-boot drives and take out the graphics card temporarily and then see if it starts up and shuts down more reliably. Then put the graphics card back in and see if there is a difference.

    Is this a case where the Apple Hardware Test would be useful once the machine has actually booted?

    Details : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1509?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
     
  6. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #6
    You can actually use another device to Remote-control the GPU-less Mac Pro to check if it works.
     
  7. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #7
    Replacement PSU for the Early-2009 seems to cost about £180 plus shipping on the UK eBay site and there are vids around to show removal.

    Since you are out of warranty, that would be one option. The other is to make a non-AppleCare appointment in a major Apple Store and ask for a quote.
     
  8. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #8

Share This Page