MP2008, new 5770, how to get audio over MDP/HDMI?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aqwhiteh, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. aqwhiteh, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010

    aqwhiteh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi all,

    Just installed an Apple 5770 (not flashed) in my Mac Pro 3,1 octo 2.8. No problems.

    I was already running 10.6.5, so install went without a hitch. Just had to switch my primary display from the TV back to the monitor, so very smooth.

    I have a 27" Samsung SyncMaster 275T monitor and also a Samsung 32" LCD TV. I connected the 275T to the DVI port on the video card. I bought a MDP-to-HDMI adapter from my local apple store (Moshi brand, about $35Cdn, box says it supports audio output for mid-2010 MB/MBP and 27" iMac), and used this with an HDMI cable to connect my TV to a MDP port on the video card.

    Ideally I would like to get audio through MDP/HDMI to the TV, so I can watch video without turning on separate speakers/stereo receiver.

    Can anyone suggest anything I can try to get OS X to detect a new MDP audio device?


    Update 1: Switching MDP connection from "nearest to DVI" over to "furthest from DVI" worsens the situation - the TV remains black with "no signal" message on screen, even with restart. (All OK when I move it back.)

    Update 2: Resetting NVRAM/PRAM has no effect. Wondering if reinstalling 10.6.5, this time as combo update, would have an impact. I doubt the MDP-HDMI adapter is the issue, my thinking is the audio device would need to be detected/available before the adapter becomes a potential issue.

    Update 3: Installing 10.6.5. combo update overtop of 10.6.5 originally done through software update, has had no effect.

    Update 4: I have a bootcamp installation of Windows 7. After rebooting and installing the latest ATI Catalyst drivers, the HDMI audio device is recognized and *works beautifully*, so my hardware configuration is confirmed to work, it is just OS X that is the problem. Maybe 10.6.6 or 10.7 will detect/enable the 5770 as an audio device in the future. :-(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. aqwhiteh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Does anybody know of way to "force" a re-discovery of installed hardware other than what has been tried above?
     
  3. Manzanito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #3
    I have the same problem, though I suspect the problem is with my adapter, not with the graphics card.

    In system profiler, in built-in audio you should have HDMI out/ Displayport, right under Optical audio in, which you don't seem to have. Wish I could be of more help.
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  5. aqwhiteh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Cindori you would know better than just about anyone, so I am sorry to see this.

    Others may find it interesting to know that I rebooted into my Windows 7 bootcamp installation and installed the ATI Catalyst drivers. Audio plays through MDP->HDMI to the TV perfectly...
     
  6. toddat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #6
    Did you find a solution?

    aqwhiteh did you find a solution to your problem? I'm having the same issue.
     
  7. jeanlain, Feb 14, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011

    jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #7
    You can if you have a recent Mac Pro.
    Page 14.
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Mac_Pro_Mid2010_UG_5686.pdf
     
  8. toddat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #8
    I have a MacPro3,1 with a 5770 and a MacPro4,1 with a 5870 and neither list HDMI/Display Port audio in system profiler under built-in audio. Both machines were upgraded to 10.6.6 from a 10.5.8 base install.

    What would cause the audio hardware on the cards to not be recognized?
     
  9. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    ok, old thread
    at the time no one had reported it working, only contrary
     
  10. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #10
    Apparentely you need a Mac Pro 5,1.
    We don't know what prevents this from working on older models (since it works on Windows). Probably a limitation imposed by Apple. :rolleyes:
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    My best guess is it has something to do with the EFI ROM on the card, and the machine needing to do some sort of magic in it's EFI firmware to enable this behavior. It's the only thing that makes sense.
     
  12. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #12
    It's not just a software thing because an older Mac Pro won't output audio via dp even if it's booted from a 2010 Mac Pro OS X image.
    Since it works on Windows (which doesn't use the EFI), I suspect OS X has some hardware check going on, which prevent this from working on older hardware. That won't be unexpected, they had 2 security checks initially preventing the 5770/5870 EFI from being used in PC cards. Thankfully, Netkas solved this little problem.
    Gotta love Apple these days. :rolleyes:
     
  13. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #13
    That doesn't give you the 2010/2011 Mac Pro firmware, which I mentioned.

    Macs do initial interfacing with audio devices usually through the firmware. That's why I suspect it's firmware related.

    Actually, I know ATI added those checks themselves. :p
     
  14. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #15
    That's interesting.
    I'm quite sure that hackintoshers have failed to get mdp audio working with radeons 5770/5870 (I might be wrong though).
    OTOH, I'm also fairly sure they got this working with recent Nvidia cards (Geforce GTX 4xx), using the recent Quadro drivers. So OS X can use the graphics card for audio even on a hackintosh.
     
  15. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #16
    The audio driver might not be triggering without some sort of EFI handshake at startup, which would never happen on a Hackintosh. The Windows driver wouldn't be looking for this handshake because it's not EFI Mac specific...

    This is mostly speculation, but I know back in the PPC days the firmware was responsible for initializing audio devices in most cases (which is why you got audio before the drivers loaded.) I wouldn't be surprised if something similar was put into EFI.
     
  16. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #17
    On a PPC Mac, you could get the startup chime on your speaker connected to the headphone jack. On intel Mac, I think that the startup chime is always through the internal speakers.
     
  17. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    If it is EFI related, what are the chances of seeing a hack come about ?
     
  18. toleda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #19
    An easy way to check for HDMI audio capability on OS X is to run IORegistryExplorer (Optional Install/Developer/Applications/Utilities). Search for HDAU. If that device is present, the firmware is capable of HDMI audio. Plug in a MDP to HDMI (audio capable) adapter and a HDMI receiver or TV, check System Preferences/Sound/Output, select your receiver/TV and you could have HDMI audio. The IOReg/HDAU screen shot is a HD5870 with HDMI audio working and the Sys_Prefs/Sound/Output on the same system. The Color LCD is an iMac (target display mode) and the DTR-40.2 is a receiver connected to a TV.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page