MP3,1 won't run without monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Killerbob, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I am trying to use my old Mac Pro (3,1) as a server/download centre/whatever, and want it to run sitting all disconnected from everything, just power and an ethernet connection. However, it will not get to login screen without having a monitor connected to it:confused:

    I have the GTX680 in the MP, and as soon as I connect an ACD all is fine, it gets to login screen, and I can use Screen Share to do everything...

    And I can disconnect the ACD from the MP with no problem. When I restart, it won't get to login screen without the monitor connected...
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    Netkas noticed this before. You'll have to remove 680
     
  3. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    Are you saying it would work with the ATI5870?
     
  4. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #4
    another possible solution is to run the Mac Pro without any graphics card at all. I did this before and it worked flawless. Screen Sharing should work, too.
     
  5. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    I put back in my "old" 5870, and it works fine. Only irritation is the resolution. When there is no monitor, it reverts to 1280x1024...
     

Share This Page