MP4,1->5,1 GT 630 compatibilty with Sapphire 7950?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by anthonymazzeri, Oct 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. anthonymazzeri macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #1
    Hi all, since Mojave killed my GT 120, I've just acquired a flashed GT 630 to fill the only single slot available to run an additional display, but it doesn't seem to want to play nice with my Radeon Sapphire 7950.

    It seems to work by itself, but not with the 7950 also present - I lose all displays on both cards and need to reboot with the 630 removed.

    The CUDA preference pane says the latest driver 7.5.30 is up to date.

    Is anyone aware of any known Nvidia vs ATI incompatibilty in Mojave? Or might it be the card itself, being non-OEM? There was the odd glitchiness in Sierra with the GT 120 installed alongside the 7950 before but nothing as bad as with the GT 630.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
  3. DearthnVader, Oct 31, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2018

    DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #3
    Do you get any display at all with both cards installed?



    Meaning are you getting a startup screen, and later the cards go dark?

    If you are not getting any startup screen at all, it's going to be hard to debug the issue, and you'll have to try moving the cards around to different slots to see if that fixes the issue.

    Otherwise, boot in single user mode or safe mode and see if you can get some info that may tell us what is going wrong.

    Also, is your 7950 flashed with a UGA EFI rom?
     
  4. anthonymazzeri, Oct 31, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2018

    anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #4
    Thanks for the response.

    Yep, that's exactly what I'm getting.

    The gray apple startup screen switches about halfway through the progress bar from the 7950 to the 630.

    Then I see the desktop on the 630 screen, but the 7950 screens are black, then within seconds the 630 screen goes black too. Result - shut down with the I/O button and remove the 630.

    My 7950 is the white Mac Edition. The GT 630 is a flashed HP version with 2 displayports (just like the one listed on Macvidcards)
    --- Post Merged, Oct 31, 2018 ---
    Hmm, that could very well be the issue then.

    I got this GT 630 off ebay but it is the same as the one listed on Macvidcards. I just looked at the website and saw this notice up:

    ALL OF OUR 4,1/5,1 CARDS HAVE METAL SUPPORT AND ARE (OR WILL BE) SOLID IN MOJAVE BUT PLEASE WAIT UNTIL DRIVERS ARE RELEASED TO UPGRADE​

    So it might be a matter of just waiting for updated drivers? Or do I even need CUDA at all just for a basic card to run an additional display?

    PS. I've been wanting to thank you for all your posts and info which helped me upgrade my MP to a 5,1. I didn't post in any of the threads but I certainly read all of them!
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Please try completely remove all web driver and CUDA driver, and see if it works.
     
  6. anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #6
    I thought that was going to work for a minute, but no.

    The GT 630 screen stays on and appears to work fine, but the screens attached to the 7950 are all black. Then when I try powering the main screen on the 7950 on and off, the 630 screen goes black as well too.
     
  7. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  8. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
  9. anthonymazzeri, Nov 1, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2018

    anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #9
    The RX 460 is dual slot? With other cards installed, I just have one slot available so the GT 630 is the only metal-enabled single slot card I've been able to find.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2018 ---
    So we're back to the only option being to wait and see if a new nvidia driver is released?

    With this being the only single-slot card available I don't really see any other choice with Mojave if I keep the 7950 - so I'm looking at either waiting for this one to eventually work, or no second card at all.

    Not really much of a choice, so I suppose I can wait...
     
  10. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #10
    The only other option would be to flash a PC Video Bios back to the 630. Tho you want to make sure you backup the full bios on the card first so you could restore it later if needed.

    There is a big but in there tho, likely the 630 uses a ROM made by MacVidCards and they put a little effort into copy protection. Trying to use a ROM dump tool may not yield you the entire ROM.

    Something to ask the person you bought it from.

    I mean, you don't need two cards with boot screens, in one system. So maybe the PC Vbios will solve the issue, or maybe not.
     
  11. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
    I Just realised the card is flashed

    seeing as my GT 740 was a PC card and it too did not work with my HD 7950, I doubt flashing the 630 back to a PC ROM will fix his issues. (and neither will web drivers if its the same issue that prevents AMD eGPUs from working with NVIDIA MBPs and iMacs)
     
  12. anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #12
    You're right, with the Mac 7950 I don't need the the second card to boot screen - so I could have just used a cheaper PC-version GT 630?
     
  13. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #13
    I see, Apple and nVidia not playing nice with each other is spilling over into users not being able to mix some nv and AMD cards.

    It's sad, but in the closed source realm there really isn't to much that we can do about it.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2018 ---
    As LBF said, that's not likely to fix the issue either.

    This one has us stumped.
     
  14. anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #14
    Okay, I posted just before you did, so that answers that question!
    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2018 ---
    Well, that issue may be something Apple will want to fix, so maybe waiting a little longer won't be in vain.
     
  15. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #15
    sadly all NVIDIA dGPU macs are TB2 or lower so dont officially support eGPUs so apple would have no Official incentive to fix the issue :/

    your best bet in this case is to Replace the GeForce GT 630 with another AMD card of some kind (Like a Radeon Pro WX 4100 since thats single slot and bus powered)

    or replace the Radeon HD 7950 with a GeForce GTX 680 or such
     
  16. anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #16
    Bummer. So all hope rests with Nvidia coming up with a new driver.

    I thought the GT 630 was my only choice so I was completely unaware of the WX 4100, thanks for the info! Do you know if it's definitely metal/mojave capable and will work without flashing? As mentioned, I don't need it to boot screen.

    I've always been quite happy with the 7950 so I'd rather find an alternative secondary card if possible.
     
  17. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #17
    Yeah the Radeon Pro WX 4100 is Based off of the Same GPU the RX 460/560 use and is defiantly Metal compatible (I have seen a couple people on this forum use WX 4100s in their MPs)

    (PS I also noticed the Radeon Pro WX 5100 is also a Single slot Bus powered card but I dont know if anyone has tested one of these cards in a MP5,1, its based off of the RX470-580 GPU so in theory it should work if OS X has its device ID in the drivers)
     
  18. anthonymazzeri thread starter macrumors member

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #18
    Great, thanks for the useful help and info. It's currently more expensive than the GT 630 so I'll wait a little while longer to see what eventuates with any new drivers from Nvidia (the Macvidcards notice of 'should work soon' gives me hope), so it's good to know there's another option available if that doesn't happen.
     

Share This Page

17 October 30, 2018