mp5,1 mid2010 fans full speed capitan

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by blerd80, Jul 11, 2016.

  1. blerd80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #1
    I have a MP mid 2010 quad core with only 8GB of ram. I had the ram in the slots closest to the cpu but the OS told me to move them so I did to the middle slots. Now on boot my fans are running full title. If I reset the pram its good to go until it goes to sleep or reboots. I didnt know if it could be the ram that caused this or what... any help would be great. I dont have any other problems with it other than the fans running at full speed if I dont rest the pram.
     
  2. Andy2k, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016

    Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #2
    Oops I guess I didn't quite understand. I thought you where adding RAM. Have you made any hardware changes lately?

    It's my understanding you should put the memory in starting in slot 1. Slot 1 is the one that's closest to you when you remove the cover. What type of RAM do you have? Speed? Does all of your RAM have the same manufacturer and/or timings? How long does it take until it happens?
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    1) The fan run at full speed on boot. Which fan? All fans? Will they stay at full speed? Or just full speed test, and then back to normal speed?

    2) Which graphic card you are using now?
     
  4. blerd80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #4
    stock gpu( ATI Radeon HD 4670 ) & (Nvidia GT120)

    RAM:

    [​IMG]
    all fans at full speed.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Do you have any software (e.g. MacsFanControl) that can monitor the actual RPM? If yes, do you mind to make a screen capture for that, and post it here?
     
  6. blerd80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #6
    just installed it. This was a fresh in so pretty much that the only thing on besides Office.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2016 ---
    ops let me try this again, because I rebooted and it didn't do it. I will try to put it to sleep for a few mins and see if that does it.
     
  7. Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #7
    The fans will kick on full-tilt for a variety of reasons including hardware issues. Any recent hardware changes or did you add RAM? Also, when it first boots, does it chime once while displaying the apple logo. I agree install Mac fan control so you can check fan speeds and temps and post a screen capture if possible. Is the ATI GPU card a Mac GPU with EFI?
     
  8. Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #9
    PCI is probably one of the video cards. Are you actually using both video cards? I would recommend removing one of the video cards as a test (if your comfortable doing that). Can you determine which video card fan is running full speed? I'd start with that GPU.
     
  9. blerd80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #10
    Yep, I have built a lot PC and mac from bare case . I think I know which one it is because it did this when I only had one card in. Just sucks because its the GT120 so I will not get a boot screen on the anti card and will be without a 3rd monitor.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2016 ---
    I did configure macs fan control from auto to custom and that fixed the problem sorta. I say sorta because it is a bandaid fix. still full speed on boot.
     
  10. Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #11
    Okay I wasn't sure your skill level. Hmmm....its kind of a stumper. Your temps look good. Did you ever try booting without a video card? I know you won't be able to use a monitor but just for a test to see if PSU fan goes back to normal? Just wondering if the PSU fan is somehow related to the PCI card?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2016 ---
    Is your EFI ROM and SMC the Newest version by chance?

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201518
     
  11. blerd80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #12
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11
    Serial Number (system): H00440HZEUG
    Serial Number (processor tray): J503902ALCZJB
    Hardware UUID: 86DD76A6-2C83-5222-9ADE-E202CBDFBB58

    Looks current

    Going to test without the video card now.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2016 ---
    Well slap my butt, no full speed fans. guess the temp sensor for this gpu is bad?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2016 ---
    got a cheap gpu for a mac pro mid 2010 you don't want? ;)
     
  12. Andy2k, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016

    Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #13
    Haha LOL! It's kind of a shot in the dark. Maybe the heat sink on your GPU came loose. Maybe reapply thermal paste on GPU card? The temps don't look too bad though?

    Occasionally I see Genuine Mac Pro GPU's on Craigslist. Maybe check your local CG for SnG's ;)

    Maybe call a local computer recycling shop. I have one near me and they have all kinds of older equipment for cheap. Keep me posted on your progress. I'd let you borrow one of my GPU's to test if you lived in Dane county Wisconsin. Oh BTW your EFI/SMC look current.
     
  13. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #14
    reset SMC
    install Temperature Gauge Pro
    let us know your readings
     
  14. blerd80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    #15
    I will try to repair the video card and see how that goes. Its so weird that the gpu caused the fans do to that. learn new stuff everyday.
    I found a few HD 5770 on eBay for around 115 but they are flashed card however with that card because it had 4 outputs I can run my 3 monitors on one card. I don't do gaming much on here and until I get a SSD my PCPX days are done. plus I don't have my cameras anymore so just light room edits and work for now. thx Andy2K.

    :::::::::::ISSUE RESOLVED:::::::
     
  15. Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #16
    Your welcome, glad I could help! I may have one or two apple 8800 GT 512mb video cards that I would be willing to work something out for. If you're interested? Let me know. I will keep you posted of how it pans out. I would definitely install them in my 2010 nMP to make sure of function and compatibility but they should be genuine Apple GPU's.
     

Share This Page