MS-DOS Question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rhcp1253, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. rhcp1253 macrumors member

    rhcp1253

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #1
    i know that i m a n00b when it comes to DOS, but what symbol would you use as space in DOSBox in xp?:confused:
     
  2. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #2

    Typically it's the underline that's used to create a space in a DOS name.
     
  3. Bkxmnr macrumors regular

    Bkxmnr

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #3
    It might be helpful to know what you are trying to do. There is no symbol to use as a space. Alt-255 is a blank character that looks like a space but in fact it is a character.
     
  4. amg99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
  5. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #5
    Ever since Windows NT/2000 you can use spaces in a command prompt, only the older OS's like 98/95 which had DOS underneath the Windows GUI needed underscores..
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    OP, where do you need the space or for what purpose?
     

Share This Page