MS RDC is Very Buggy

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macDonalds, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. macDonalds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    It's beta STILL so it's to be expected. Anyway, I've used it for around a year or so and I've finally had enough of the little annoyances.

    It seemed to have issues with cap locks. Sometimes when switching between the RDC and Mac environment, the Windows environment would type everything in caps. So I would have to put caps lock on for it to reverse. Obviously when I went back to Mac, I would be typing in caps -- argghhh!

    Over the last few weeks things have gotten worse. I have Spaces set to a hot corner (top right to be exact) and randomly during RDC use, it would stop completely. Not only that but the dock would lock up at times and even disappear. A reboot was required to fix the issue.

    These problems only happened when using RDC. I decided I had enough this morning, ditched RDC and now I'm using VMWare to RDC into another Windows box.

    Anyone out there have similar experiences?
     
  2. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #2
    I have had a few different issues with it as well. I hope that you've been submitting bug reports whenever you run into problems with it - I know they've already fixed quite a few little nigglies they were having.

    I use it to admin a box running server 2008, and lately I've not had any problems at all.
     
  3. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    I feel your pain. It's a royal PITA. I read somewhere that the new full version will be released in the next month or so. Fingers crossed!

    What do you mean about VMWare and RDC? Running windows on VM Ware to use it's in built windows RDC client?
     
  4. macDonalds thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    You got it! It's a bit more processing I'd like my Mac to do but at least there's no annoying issues.
     
  5. walnuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    My biggest problem with it is the ridiculously slow file access, but I think that is a general RDC issue, and not the client.

    There is another RDC client out there- Have you tried CoRD? As far as I can tell, you can't use it to transfer files between your mac and the RDC, but it is good otherwise.
     

Share This Page