MS Remote Desktop app

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by MrMister111, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. MrMister111 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    I'm not really sure this app does what I want but anyway....

    Can I connect to a Windows Vista PC from my iPhone over WiFi and 3G?

    My father has a Windows Vista laptop and he's getting on so always asking me questions. I tell him what to do, but it would be easier to be able to remotely access his computer so I can show him/do it for him.

    Is this what this app is for? Can I do it for example over 3G from my iPhone? Do I need to install anything on the Windows Vista laptop?

    Thanks
     
  2. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #2
  3. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    That is exactly what it is for. You will have to enable the remote controlling feature on the Vista PC, which depending on the version may not have it, as some of the home versions don't have the full range of networking capabilities needed to perform the true remote administration and control. You will more than likely have to also open the port on his router or modem to allow for the control to be allowed through the router as well.

    Something like log-me in may work better for you in your situation (as it is something that can easily be set up remotely and controlled remotely and generally needs no network adjustments).

    Either way, if he is not as technically inclined you will need to initially be in front of the machine to set up everything and get it working correctly.
     
  4. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #4
    Yeah, Vista home edition will not work. You usually need Professional/Business editions or higher to allow remote connections.
     
  5. bransoj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #5
    +1 from me for Logmein...works a treat!! I have it set on a few PCs and means you can access from your phone\pad over 3G or wifi and also has a web interface if you happen to be in front of a PC and need to connect on. Worked flawlessly for me every time i've needed it. You need to install something on the PC you need to connect to but its simple to do.
     
  6. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #6
    His Vista version doesn't have it...doh!

    Pity. Why MS limit this function in their OS I don't know. So looks like logmein is the best solution then?
     
  7. bransoj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #7
    Definitely the best solution and to be honest one i would have gone with previously. Just need to set up a logmein account, add his computer to it by loading up the website on his PC and going through the process that will add a little app to his PC that allows you to connect on and then you need to install the app on you iDevice...simple!

    Works fine over 3G, wifi or you can use a PC via their website to do it. I have my laptop, my dads and the father in laws on my account so i can do stuff.
     
  8. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ

Share This Page