MS Remote Desktop Connection & Lion

Penguinwrangler

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 12, 2006
186
0
Edgewater, NJ
Would any of our resident Lion Beta users be able to tell us if Microsoft's Remote Desktop connection continues to work under Lion as it does in SL? I can't think of any reason that it shouldn't but since it's a mission critical app for me, it would be nice to know before I pull the trigger tomorrow.

Thanks.
 

Craiger

macrumors 6502a
Jul 11, 2007
839
216
Would any of our resident Lion Beta users be able to tell us if Microsoft's Remote Desktop connection continues to work under Lion as it does in SL? I can't think of any reason that it shouldn't but since it's a mission critical app for me, it would be nice to know before I pull the trigger tomorrow.

Thanks.
Well the 2.1.1 version installed and ran ok, but I don't have a computer to test it with right now, because today was the first day in a month that I decided to turn off my work computer! lol
 

ardy8888

macrumors newbie
Mar 3, 2011
27
0
I don't know but have you ever tried www.teamviewer.com in my opinoin it is way better then MS remote.
I love Teamviewer but there is no way it is better than using the Remote Desktop client to connect to Windows systems. RDC performs as if you were sitting right at the machine. Teamviewer is a bit sluggish.
 

ardy8888

macrumors newbie
Mar 3, 2011
27
0
yes, remote desktop connection works just as well as it does in SL
I'm able to connect to Server 2008, Windows 7, and Server 2003 systems. But the application crashes if I try to connect to a Windows 2000 Server system. Other than that, it still works well.
 

jlombardi3

macrumors newbie
Jul 27, 2011
2
0
I'm able to connect to Server 2008, Windows 7, and Server 2003 systems. But the application crashes if I try to connect to a Windows 2000 Server system. Other than that, it still works well.
Ardy,

Would you mind telling me how you connect remotely to Windows server 2003 from your Mac? I have a new Imac at home and would like to be able to use remote desktop to control my windows desktop at the office (as I can do with any windows based pc). More importantly, I would like to purchase a Macbook Air for business travel, but there is not way I can justify it if I can't log in remotely using remote desktop. I have searched these forums, and the internet, but have not found the solution. I also called Apple Care, and went to an Apple store - no luck their either. Detailed instructions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 

macjube

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
13
0
Great White North
Free MS Remote Desktop Client for Mac

Would you mind telling me how you connect remotely to Windows server 2003 from your Mac?
Microsoft has the Remote Desktop Client for Mac as a free download at http://www.microsoft.com/mac/downloads
As others have pointed out, it works great on Lion but crashes when connecting to (ancient) Windows Server 2000 systems. It's trivial to use: enter the hostname (or IP address) you want to connect to, log in, and you're there.
 
Last edited:

jlombardi3

macrumors newbie
Jul 27, 2011
2
0
Microsoft has the Remote Desktop Client for Mac as a free download at http://www.microsoft.com/mac/downloads
As others have pointed out, it works great on Lion but crashes when connecting to (ancient) Windows Server 2000 systems. It's trivial to use: enter the hostname (or IP address) you want to connect to, log in, and you're there.
Thanks for the reply. Maybe I am missing something that is relatively obvious to others, but I cannot get it to work. The windows 2003 server to which I am trying to connect is NOT in my network...does that make a difference? As an example, lets say I buy the macbook air, and then I am sitting in a hotel in New York. How can I use the air to connect to my company's windows 2003 small business server sitting in Houston? Thanks again.
 

ginamina28

macrumors newbie
Aug 6, 2010
4
0
East Bay Area, California
Nope!

Hi gang,

I use it for work and it's not working for me anymore either!! :mad:

Apple's is very expensive and I'm logging into a system that uses Windows Vista (yikes)! It's always worked with my old PowerBooks and then my new MacBook Pro, but since I've installed Lion, last week, I have to open and close it often and the mouse is messed up (especially the external mouse).

Does anyone know of another program that's similar that would work and not cost me $79?

Thanks!

Gina
 

cpadawg

macrumors newbie
Feb 17, 2012
1
0
Thanks for the reply. Maybe I am missing something that is relatively obvious to others, but I cannot get it to work. The windows 2003 server to which I am trying to connect is NOT in my network...does that make a difference? As an example, lets say I buy the macbook air, and then I am sitting in a hotel in New York. How can I use the air to connect to my company's windows 2003 small business server sitting in Houston? Thanks again.
I see this post is from July 2011; however, did you ever get a response to your question? I just bought a MacBook Air, and I'm having the same problem. My company uses Windows 2003 small business server and I can log in from my home pc. I do have the Remote Desktop Connection Mac that came with the Microsoft Office for Mac. I've figured out how to get the Remote Desktop Connection to give me a log in for our server; however, when I try to log in with my user name & password, it gives me that message that I "must be granted the Allow log on through Terminal Services rights." What I don't understand is that I can still log onto my work server with my home pc using the user name & password, so why is there a problem doing the same with the Mac? I've googled & read many articles, but I can't find the answer. I understand this being a problem if I were using a different user name & password, but since it's the same as the one I use when connecting (successfully) from my pc, I don't know how to correct it. Any suggestions from anyone?
 

goldyfoxx

macrumors newbie
May 21, 2012
1
0
Remote Desktop Lion 10.7.3 to Windows 7

Hi - new to this forum, but would love some help in gaining access to a Windows 7 PC from my MAC OS X 10.7.3 - Remote Desktop.
We have purchased a new printer & unfortunately it doesn't support this latest operating system from MAC (JOY!)
Have been steered in this direction to operate the printer through Windows.
Help required!
 

ginamina28

macrumors newbie
Aug 6, 2010
4
0
East Bay Area, California
Working Fine Now

Hi again,

About using MS Remote Desktop with Lion, well, after being on the phone with tech support for my mac, it works just fine on my MacBookPro, 2.3GHz Intel Core i5, 13" (early 2010). I went with an upper level tech who showed me how to delete certain files from the Macintosh HD Library, and everything worked real well after that. There were occasional crashes, but that happened on Snow Leopard too.

Now, whether or not to upgrade to Mountain Lion? I found that my boss' server is Windows 2003 so I may try.

Anyone else upgrading?

Gina :)
 

neal5

macrumors newbie
Aug 3, 2009
17
0
Phoenix, Arizona
Help

:confused:

I'm running 10.8.2 with the 2.1.1 RDC Client.

I can connect just fine to all our 2003 Servers.

However as soon as I try to connect to any 2008 Server, no connection can be established. I googled a lot but I did not really find a solution. :mad:

I attached a screenshot of the error message.
It's crucial that I get that to work. We have 30 clients that can't connect now. :(

Are there any tweaks or known work arounds out there?

UPDATE:

I got it to work... instead of using the domainname, I used the IP address.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.