MS Word; Cannot save due to file permissions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Dal123, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I'm trying to save a Microsoft Word document and I am getting 'word cannot save this document due to a naming or permissions error on the destination volume'.

    I have done some research and reluctantly removed a hyphen out of the document; still no joy;
    Restarted word; still no joy;
    Restarted mac; still no joy;

    Anyone know anything I can try :eek:??
     
  2. GGJstudios, Apr 17, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Where are you trying to save the document? Internal drive? External? What version of Mac OS X are you running? What version of Word?

    How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience
    Please help, Office 2011 Problem
     
  3. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I'm trying to save the document in one of my Document sub directories. I am using
    Microsoft Word 2011 for mac,
    saving internally,
    using Lion 10.7.3.
    Thanks
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Have you checked the permissions on the destination folder?
     
  5. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    I just have and I have permission to read and write.:(
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    And I assume you've verified that the folder isn't locked. Have you tried saving to other locations? Also, a hyphen in the file name shouldn't be a problem at all.
     
  7. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Thanks, I'm not sure I checked it 'getting info'. I can't see why not. I haven't made any changes.
    I have just managed to save it to desktop with the name I desire so there must be something up with the directory :eek:.

    Sorry I'm not too clever on this :eek:, thanks for your help.:)
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Locate the folder in question in Finder, then right-click on it and "Get Info". Then take a screen shot of that Get Info window and post it.
     
  9. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Thanks, I was checking it right, I'm positive the folder is not locked through the 'get info' method.:(
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Try creating a new folder and saving to that folder. If you have no problems, move whatever contents may be in the problem folder to the new one, then delete the problem folder.
     
  11. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Thanks. That's sorted it but I am concerned why this has happened.

    I noticed that the directory was showing a document called 'folders'. This was not only in this directory; it's in all directories;

    Also shows another showing 'pdf documents', if there are pdf's in there, then if spreadsheets it shows a directory 'spreadsheets'.

    I presume this is the new categorizing in lion, but I presume these files 'folders', 'pdf documents' etc are not supposed to be visible.

    When I got this new computer I don't think it was like that. Am I being paranoid?
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Permissions sometimes get screwed up. As long as it's sorted now, I wouldn't worry about it, unless it happens frequently.
    Can you post a screen shot of what you're referring to?
    I don't think there's anything to cause concern. While you may not fully understand why something is happening, it usually doesn't imply that something is wrong.
     
  13. musty345 macrumors regular

    musty345

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Repairing Disk Permissions

    Hi, this might be a stupid point, but I was wondering whether you've tried repairing the disk permissions by going into disk utility>Macintosh HD> First Aid> Repair Disk Permissions?
     
  14. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #14
    No not silly at all; but I did do that as I learnt to repair permissions when I first got the machine oddly :eek:.
     
  15. vip007, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012

    vip007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    #15
    I am having problems like this as well. However, I seem to have pinpointed the cause of it in my particular configuration.

    My iMac has an SSD boot drive, with all Users data on a separate volume (hard drive). This volume is then mounted on /Users. The whole process is described here http://lnx2mac.blogspot.com/2010/09/moving-os-x-users-to-separate-partition.html.

    Now, if I try to save on this volume, I get the "naming or permission error". On the other hand, if I save anywhere on the SSD boot drive the problem goes away.

    All Users volume permissions are set correctly and Office is the only app that has issues with this. Of course, there are no traces of these problems in any of the logs that I could find.

    In the end, this workaround seemed to resolve the issue: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...aming-or-permissions-error-on-the-destination. It is obviously a bug, hopefully it may be addressed in some future Office update.
     
  16. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Thanks VIP, thought there was a problem with my machine.
     
  17. roadrunner2130 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #17
    Having this same problem. Running Office Mac 2011 with 14.2.3 update and just updated to mountain lion. Any help?
     

Share This Page