MTR issues

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by giyad, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. giyad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #1
    So I have been trying to make backups of my DVD's , using Mac the Ripper, but whenever the DVD finishes copying it says that there were bad sectors and the VOB files don't play in VLC. I haven't tried any other program to play it because Im confident that its not a VLC problem, but maybe I should.

    I tried using handbrake but it can't get around the copyright restrictions and always says that there is no valid file found.

    Does anyone know how I can get this to work? Or even better, how copy it to a single output file instead of all the VOB's, I know handbrake can, but its not working at the moment with the restrictions. The thing is I want to put my DVD's on an external drive so I can use it in my hometheater, instead of having to flip through DVD's...
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. giyad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #3
    2.6.6
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I strongly suggest finding a newer version of MacTheRipper. It should be able to get around the newer protection tricks on those DVDs.
     
  5. giyad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #5
    how do you suggest i go about doing something like that, I can't exactly download a newer version than the developers have released... 2.6.6 is the newest version, 3.0 is in beta testing
     
  6. jwt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #6
    If two apps are having problems then maybe you need to check to see if your regional settings are set correctly.
     
  7. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #7


    Go here and do a free signup then pay the fee for the beta MTR 3.0..
     
  8. giyad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #8
    you were absolutely right! I didn't think that could be it because the first 2 movies I ripped were region 1, so it worked for those but not the other, weird eh?

    Speaking of which, is there anyway to crack the region on my DVD drive, because I only have 2 more chances at changing the region... lame!
     

Share This Page