Mts files and fcpx. Help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mcphee7, Sep 3, 2011.

1. mcphee7 macrumors member

Hi. I am soon going to buy a mbp and fcpx. I have a lot of mts files on my external hdd, and they are also still on my camera (which stores it's files on a hdd too). However, I have read that fcpx does not like mts files and won't import them. If this is true, then it properly sucks and I simply won't buy it.

I'm new to all this and need some advice. I have done a search but nothing specific to my needs came up.

Thanks in advance.

2. cgbier macrumors 6502a

Of course, there's a lot for your needs: Copy the complete file structure from your cards, and no Apple program will have a problem using the embedded .mts

3. mcphee7 thread starter macrumors member

Thank you for your reply. Reading between the lines of your post, does that mean that fcpx will read and import directly from my camera? I still have all the files stored on the cameras own HDD.

4. treestar macrumors 6502

Yes. In fact it will be easiest to import direct from the camera.

5. mBox macrumors 68020

ProRes

Id keep them in ProRes as back-up and as working files.
    Also use the proxies.
    Some MTS code tends to chunk out here and there during playback.

6. xizar macrumors regular

The above about "no Apple program will have a problem using the embedded .mts" is not true. I refer you to iPhoto and Aperture (I find this very irritating as my videos are geo-tagged.)

However, FCPX will grudgingly import your .MTS files. My camera records avchd video, and I've successfully imported recent and old video directly.

Depending on your system's horsepower, you shouldn't need to convert them to ProRes; I haven't had any issues on a late 2009 27" imac.
    Why convert to another format for the backup?

7. treestar macrumors 6502

The way .mts stores information in the folder directory makes it a terrible format to save as a backup.

8. xizar macrumors regular

... oh wow.