Much needed website IE only

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by flyguy451, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. flyguy451 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #1
    I have a work related website that I need to access that I can't because I, obviously, don't have Internet Explorer. I know there's a way to have Safari or Firefox spoof as IE but can't remember how to do this. I had this set up once before on a previous machine.

    Advice?

    Thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You need to enable the debug menu. From there you can choose the user agent.

    Note that this may not get the site to work: if the site is truly IE only (i.e. uses non-standard JavaScript calls or ActiveX) then it still won't work.
     
  3. flyguy451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #3
    Excellent!

    Thanks for the quick reply, that's why I love this place.

    Yes, I do know about the Active X issue but it's worth a try.

    D
     
  4. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    Firefox has an extension that can be installed called IE Tab, not sure if that would do it.
     
  5. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    Also you could try here http://browsers.evolt.org/

    You can download the old IE 5.xx for mac, but i'm not sure if that will work.
     
  6. flyguy451 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #6
  7. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #7
    IE Tab only works in Windows because it embeds an instance of IE inside a tab. It won't work on a Mac.
     
  8. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #8
    Ok, thanks for that, wasn't sure if it would work, I just remember seeing it as an extension once.
     
  9. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    IETab is Windows-only and relies on Internet Explorer being installed.

    oops - I didn't see the other post correcting this. Sorry for the noise!
     
  10. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #10
    Aye, I gathered that from what fishkorp said, thanks though.
     
  11. Tommie Montana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #11
    I'm surprised that IES4OSX hasn't been mentioned. This enables the use of IE on mac. Just google the term and install it. I had a homebanking site that I could only use with IE, and this worked like a charm. A very big deal in my opinion, and one less reason for people to stay with Windows, if there still are any (except for gamers, that is).
     
  12. JUMPINTHEGUN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #12
    I have an IE only website that I need to use and HATE firing up Parallels b/c I hate working with XP... so I am downloading and installing IES4OSX.. but it is taking FOREVER.... It is now downloading the fonts and it is taking forever... the rest was quick - even the 18MB Darwine download... but this is very slow... is this normal? I'll apologize in advance for the lame first post...
     
  13. weaponofchoice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
  14. JUMPINTHEGUN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #14
    yeah... that's what it's doing... thus the question...:rolleyes:

    Thanks though...
     

Share This Page