Multi-bay Thunderbolt External Storage of nMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by orbitalpunk, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. orbitalpunk macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Can someone recommend a Multi-bay Thunderbolt External Storage for the nMP? I know of the Drobo 5D but I noticed it doesnt have Thunderbolt 2. The OWC Thunderbay won't work cause you can't use BootCamp with it since there are no windows drivers. Any other choices out there? 4-5 bays would be great.

    Thanks
     
  2. Aldaris macrumors 68000

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #2
    I've been watching caldigits thunderbolt options. They have a 3 bay option available now, and 4 bay coming soon. And there was some early press releases for single and dual bay options but I haven't heard any developments on those.
     
  3. orbitalpunk, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014

    orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #3
  4. jclmavg macrumors regular

    jclmavg

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #4
    I own the Blackmagic Multidock 2. Works great. And best of all, it is silent.
     
  5. N19h7m4r3, Oct 8, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2014

    N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #5
    That's actually awesome! Not a bad price either, considering what you get.

    That's on my to buy list now!
     
  6. rueyloon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #6
    I read that the drobo is actually ethernet over thunderbolt. I wonder if that effects performance much.
     
  7. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #7
    Yes, it's got horrible performance really, plus no Thunderbolt support in Windows either.

    http://www.storagereview.com/drobo_5d_review
     
  8. nox-uk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    Wow, that's a nice piece of kit :)

    Nox
     
  9. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #9
    Unfortunate it only accepts 2.5" SSD. sounds nice tho.
     
  10. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #10
    If only LaCie offered to sell their enclosures without disks.
     
  11. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #11
    Or Promise2 r4. I've seen YouTube videos of the diskless being unboxed and Apple even has a old support page about it but I can't find it anywhere to buy. It's crazy.
     
  12. rjbenson83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #12
    Apple was the only place that sold the diskless version, and it has been discontinued.
     
  13. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
  14. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #14
  15. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #15
    where did you get that info on the OWC Thunderbay 4? I have it for a few months and bootcamp works fine.
     
  16. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #16
    Well at first glance the Thunderbay only says Mac Compatible but when I downloaded the manual today and read thru it I saw its Windows compatible too. So that put in back in the game but I wasn't sure if Boot Camp could run on it.

    So your saying you've essential installed windows on it and are booting to it with no issues? Did you use Boot Camp to install directly to it or did you do the WinClone method? I just ordered the Thunderbay 4 to take my chances so what ever method to install Windows that you can share will be most helpful.

    Thanks
     
  17. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #17
    I partitioned internal SSD to install bootcamp and then used Winclone to put bootcamp in one of the drives in TB4. After getting bootcamp to work from external drive then delete the bootcamp partition from your internal SSD get your space back.
     
  18. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #18
    Thank you very much for confirming this method to working. I can breath a sigh of relief now.
     
  19. shaunp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #19
    The Pegasus 2 R4 is very good. I hear you about 'no diskless version' but having bought one I've not regretted it. They also do the M4 if you are wanting to use SSD's not sure if this is diskless though.
     
  20. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #20

Share This Page