multicore apps?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aaronw1986, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #1
    So...what programs make good use fo multiple cores...I need to find an app to get into to justify getting an octo core MP!
     
  2. Iam-AT-Work macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #2
    After Effects :)
     
  3. Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  4. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #4
    AutoPano Pro uses all 8.

    I would assume Apple's prosumer and pro software (Aperture, Final Cut, DVD Studio Pro, Logic, etc.) will use all 8.
     
  5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    The new version of Compressor can have multiple instances running at the same time, but overall the Pro apps aren't very multi-core aware. Hopefully that'll change soon w/a nice juicy point update.


    Lethal
     
  6. ZachPruckowski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #6
    Yeah, I feel like its possible to use workflow (multiple apps open/running at a time) and background processes to justify 4 cores, but we need multi-threaded apps to justifiy 8.
     

Share This Page