Multiple Apple TV's (gen4)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jac2598, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. jac2598 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    I have had a gen4 Apple TV since around launch. It's all set up the way I want, has the apps I use and it's sitting in our family room.

    I've recently acquired a second gen4 and want to have that set up identical to the existing. Is there a process somewhat easily allowing for "cloning" an existing household device?

    I also assume there are others who have multiple Apple TV's in their house - how do you handle this situation?

    Thanks.
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
  3. jac2598 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Thank you for the suggestion. I might have to give this a try.
     
  4. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    To my knowledge there is no way to clone the existing configuration of an Apple TV. Configurator 2 is useful if you want to deploy multiple Apple TVs, but you'll first have a create a new profile from scratch. It'll also not help with settings for 3rd party apps (like entering passwords in cable-authenticated apps etc.).
     
  5. rockyromero macrumors 6502

    rockyromero

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #5
    Apple may address this in the future when more people start adding more.

    I have (2) older model 3, in addition to my model 4.

    I'll be upgrading in the near future.

     
  6. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #6
    Well you can use your iPhone to set up the Apple TV with your network and Apple ID info via Bluetooth. That should make it a lot easier.
     

Share This Page