Multiple cards in an early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cloudnoize, Aug 21, 2015.

  1. cloudnoize macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #1
    Can I run 2 video cards (1) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660, main slot, and (1) GT120 in a 2009 Mac Pro? Reason being, every time there's an OS X update, I have to install the GT120 being that the GTX 660 does not have the normal boot up screen. Not that it's a big deal but if the Mac can handle my 120, why not keep it installed..

    The big question.. Are there an downsides, sluggishness, crashes, etc? Also, I probably won't have any monitors plugged into the 120 as both of which I have now, are plugged into the 660.

    Thanks!
     
  2. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  3. ProjectManager101 Suspended

    ProjectManager101

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #3
    I have two cards, one Nvidia with 2GB VRam and the original with 256GB and one 30" Apple cinema display and I just connected the display to the original card to try something and no problem. You can have 4 videos cards with two DVI ports on the Mac Pro. We used to use it as a video server to feed 8 different screens for live shows. That computer can do way more than you think. You haven't even started to use it yet.
     
  4. RoastingPig, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015

    RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    you can have 3 double wide 6 display amd cards with an external psu for a total of 18 1080p displays concurrently.

    without external psu you can do 3 of the new gtx 950 single 6 pin, 2 from the motherboard an 1 from a sata to 6 pin. Only a 90w tdp for each. that can do 9 4k displays and 3 1080p displays concurrently.

    Pixel Pimpin.
     
  5. cloudnoize thread starter macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #5
    Thanks for the info.. Much needed and appreciated! :)

    Cheers!
     
  6. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #6
    I don't know if you use bootcamp, but in my experience you can't load windows with a GTX 970 and a GT120 installed.
     
  7. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #7
    There was a time with 10.I.x that 2 GT120s or nVidia caused trouble, was awhile before it was fixed, odd because 4,1s were sold as TO with up to 4 GTWW0s.

    Why a w20 though doing nothing? For rare need for boot screen as 660 is not flashed?
     
  8. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #8
    Not in Windows 10 though. Microsoft forces the system to download the driver for the GT120 which is incompatible with drivers for newer cards.
     
  9. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #9
    Where is all this Windows and Boot camp? extraneous to original question.
     
  10. cloudnoize thread starter macrumors newbie

    cloudnoize

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #10
    The reason why the 120 isn't doing anything, other than the rare need of a boot screen is because with the 660, I'm forcing a 1920 x 1200 monitor to go 2560 x 1600, under SwitchResX. I'm not able to do this with the 120 card.

    I don't have a need for bootcamp so no issues there.
     

Share This Page