Multiple Desktops Look like Same Desktops

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by sheetrock321, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. sheetrock321 macrumors member

    sheetrock321

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #1
    So when I first heard of "multiple desktops," I was thinking, oh neat, I can have these icons/folders on Desktop 1 for say, my "play" time, and Desktop 2 for my professional needs.

    But yes, I do use a lot of folders on my desktop because it's very quick access. But apparently that's not what the new Mission Control does.

    It's just application window management, as far as I can tell. Which I can do just fine on ONE desktop, hiding, minimizing, etc. Plus I already have window snapping software, so I guess my question is....


    How can one have multiple desktops with different folders on each one, maybe even a different background image? Is this possible, even with third party software?
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    I guess, for different folder, Mission Control cannot achieve this goal. I mean, you have the identical folders set at any desktop you use in Mission Control. However, by default, Mac OS X will display different background images for each new desktop unless you have fewer background images set as wallpaper than the amount of your desktop. For example, you set only one picture as wallpaper, then all your desktops will only display that picture.

    And by the way, there is a phrase called "Virtual Desktop". This phrase defines the desktop you can see and use in Mission Control.
     
  3. maxsix Suspended

    maxsix

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #3
    As implemented right out of the box it requires patience, some fiddling, and even at that I find it a time sink.
     
  4. sheetrock321 thread starter macrumors member

    sheetrock321

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #4
    yeah, that's kind of what I was thinking after a little bit of fiddling. I really wonder how many people use it.

    See, having a 2nd desktop, that was kind of like a virtual extra display, with totally different folders (or none at all), now that would be cool.
     
  5. MacGizmo, Nov 24, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015

    MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    OS X currently doesn't offer this capability in its stock configuration. There used to be small apps that would do this, but I believe they have been abandoned by the developer because of Sandbox restrictions by Apple.

    Total Spaces comes to mind. Unfortunately, you have to disable El Capitan's SIP (System Integrity Protection) in order to use it. Because of this, the developer will continue to support the app, but future updates are unlikely. This is the same guy that makes Total Finder, another great app that SIP has killed.

    Note: Even with SIP disabled, Total Spaces didn't work very well.
     
  6. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #6
    The constant shifting of multi-desktop behavior has been a bit of a pain, both in the OSX and Win worlds. I've pretty much given up on letting the OS manage things, and have resorted to relying upon my own discipline.

    Whether virtual or physical, I always have three desktops, going from Left to Right: Consume (Left), Create (Center), and Communicate (Right). On my iMac, with three 27" displays, that's how it's running at this moment. And on the 12" rMB, that's how my three virtual desktops are setup. I also do some things to eliminate confusion (eg. Chrome is for Work and Safari is for play).

    This system has worked out well for me, over the past few years. Actually, I've used it much longer, though it was previously with two screens (Consume and Create).

    I've found that the major productivity trick is to spend time in the Create screen...LOL... that's the struggle.
     
  7. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I use Full Screen apps a lot (which is essentially using Spaces). The only thing that would allow me to make extensive use of the Mission Control/Spaces feature would be for Adobe to get with the program and add Full Screen capability. But since they are never going to do it, Spaces will be a fringe feature for virtually all content creators.
     
  8. maxsix Suspended

    maxsix

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #8
    This sounds like a good setup!

    The question is: if I were to copy you and try this, what is the monthly fee?

    :D :D
     

Share This Page