Multiple external drives and RAID

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by principii, Oct 24, 2008.

1. principii macrumors newbie

Hello - I am kind of new to this, so please forgive me if I am vague!

I have two hard drives that already have my music on one and my videos/images on the other. I want to use them as external drives for my mac.

I would like to use this particular dual-bay case, which comes with RAID capabilities. I know that RAID is used to force the multiple drives to be used as one drive but I actually want to keep the drives separate, but just in the same case.

Could anyone here please tell me if it is possible with an enclosure that CAN do RAID to choose NOT to use RAID?

It is this case: http://www.epowermac.com.au/shop/pc/SATA-Xpress-RAID-Case-Only-355p704.htm#details

Overall, this case is the one I like best in terms of looks and it's both within my price range and in my country (Australia) so I don't have to cough up for postage from the US or some other far away place. It took me ages to find one I was happy with so I would really prefer not to have to find another one.

Thank you all for any advice you can offer.

2. belvdr macrumors 603

Well, it says it supports JBOD, but that can be either just concatenating all drives together or, as some mfr's do, means no RAID at all (aka separate drives). I'd call the manufacturer and ask.

3. blodwyn macrumors 65816

The reference to RAID 0 is the concatenation option. The JBOD setting would allow for both drives to be used separately and independently

4. belvdr macrumors 603

RAID 0 is not simple concatenation of drives. The manufacturer says it supports JBOD or RAID 0. JBOD can be either concatenation or single disks, and that depends on the manufacturer's definition. RAID 0, is nowhere close to being similar to JBOD. RAID 0 stripes the data across the disks.

5. blodwyn macrumors 65816

From Wikipedia: