MP All Models Multiple GPU's in Mojave

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by startergo, Jun 11, 2019 at 12:24 PM.

  1. startergo macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #1
    Somebody said Mojave does not like multiple GPU's
    With the expansion chassis I have GT-640, GTX-Titan, RX-580 and I booted with the GT-640, and the RX-580 on 2 displays.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 11, 2019 at 12:29 PM ---
    Image correction
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #2
    Nice. Anyone know if the 4GPU limit has been lifted?
     
  3. startergo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #3
    No post with 4 cards. But I have problems with 3 cards in Windows 7 legacy mode, Windows 10 UEFI and HS. HS logs me out, then I log in and it logs me out again. I expected most problems with Mojave, but it actually performs the best.
     
  4. F.A.D. macrumors member

    F.A.D.

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #4
    What Chassis are you are using?

    I always wanted to have something like the cubix expander and am curios if four Radeon VII in a cubix expander on a 5.1 deliver a performance close to the 7.1 with two MPX Modules.

    On High Sierra FCPX seems to use 4 GPU's, I remember reading an article where they used 4x7950's and got render times that took approx. 1/4 of the time.

    I wonder if these kind of boards would work for a 5.1: http://www.cyclone.com/products/expansion_backplanes/pcie2-427.php

    Best regards,

    David
     
  5. startergo, Jun 12, 2019 at 3:31 AM
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019 at 6:32 AM

    startergo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #5
    That is the exact same board I use plus Rosewill 1600W PSU
    or you can get this:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Cyclone-Mi...766608?hash=item1ccecf2690:g:gCUAAOSwOsdcrB0P
    reasonable price for this setup
    I could not make the GTX Titan, RX 580 and 2 GT 640 (4 total cards) to boot at all. Perhaps if I put all the cards in the expansion box it may work or maybe 4 identical cards work.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 12, 2019 at 3:46 AM ---
    I don't think real world GPU performance is much different in Gen2 PCIEx16 vs PCIE Gen3
     
  6. Ludacrisvp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008

Share This Page

5 June 11, 2019