Multiple Instances Of Finder

Discussion in 'macOS' started by merc669, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #1
    Used to be able to open multiple windows for Finder so I could move files around between folders. Now I can't. Looked around for a fix but cannot find anything. Can anybody provide an answer? Thanks!!

    Bill...:apple:
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Have you tried opening another Finder window? :confused:
     
  3. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #3
    I'm assuming you just want to have a new window open up when you double click on an icon as you have never been able to run more than one Finder. (Multiple windows does not mean multiple instances.)

    Here is how to have folders open in new windows:

    Finder (menu) > Preferences… (menu item) > General (tab) > Always open folders in a new window (check box)

    Oh and to just open a new Finder window just:

    File (menu) > New Finder Window (menu item)
     
  4. merc669 thread starter macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #4
    Yep, tried that! No Joy. Thanks for the quick one!

    Bill......:apple:
     
  5. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #5
    Apple+N doesn't open new finder window for you?

    Have you tried relaunching finder?

    Failing that, you could try deleting the finder preference file.
     
  6. merc669 thread starter macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #6
    Does not work either. Rebooted (Hard) with no luck. Just worked a few days ago. Totally confused....

    Bill.....:apple:

    P.S. Tried swiftaw answer and that works. Let me qualify that one the Apple + N works. Where is the Finder Pref File? But used to be able to click this. So not sure what happened. Thanks Much for all the replies and hope everybody's Christamas is Happy!!
     

Share This Page