Multiple Libraries on iTunes 8.0? Help please...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hellomoto4, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. hellomoto4 macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I am wanting to have a separate library for my mum (or mom in the US hehe) in iTunes so that I don't have her music and she doesn't have mine.

    How can I start another library with iTunes 8.0? I tried pressing shift+open iTunes and nothing... (Currently use Windows XP)


    Thanks
     
  2. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Press ALT/Option with left click to open iTunes..... That'll do it.
     
  3. hellomoto4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Nope, Alt+Left Click takes me to properties.
     
  4. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    When I Alt click on the iTunes icon (in the Dock) I get this screen asking me if I want to switch to another library. This allows me to use two different libraries (a lightweight one stored on my MBP) and the fullsize one I have on an external drive.
    I think this trick only works when starting iTunes from the Dock....

    edit: ah.... I see you're using Windows.... I guess it's an OSX only feature.....
     

    Attached Files:

  5. hellomoto4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Ah ok.
    Thanks anyways.

    Looks like I'll have to get a Mac then... :p
     
  6. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #6
    You should!! But there must be an option to do this. Search better your menu bar(itunes bar onthe top!).:)
     
  7. nelly4826 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #7
    i had the same problem where the shift key only opened 'properties'
    after a bunch of searching all over the internet, the apple support finally helped!

    hold down the shift key, then open the start menu, go into all programs, itunes, itunes and dont stop pressing shift until the library options window comes up

    hope this helps
     
  8. hellomoto4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Thanks, it worked!
    Just another question - is there anyway to change libraries within iTunes or do I have to close and reopen?
     

Share This Page