Multiple Monitor Setup?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bradleykavin, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. bradleykavin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    I am looking to replace my two apple displays for a multiple (preferable three) monitor setup that includes a stand. I have found some sites for stock traders, but wondering if anyone has any recommendations? Looking for something like this
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
  3. bradleykavin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #3
    23 and 20 cinema displays. i am trying to sell them but the only way ive realized is selling for pennies on the dollar because of their initial high cost. I realize aple displays look incredible, but they are just too expensive imo in contrast to competitors.
     
  4. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #4
    I would keep them.

    But if your dead set on selling them PM me.
     
  5. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    any reason why they have to be on the same stand?

    i have 2x ATI graphics cards and 4 monitors plugged in (I use mine for s&p e-mini futures trading under vmware xp)

    i'd keep the apple displays and just add another graphics card if you need one
     
  6. bradleykavin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #6
    i will be ordering two graphics cards inside my new mac pro when it comes out. and its mainly for my desk, and appearance/congestion on my desk.
     
  7. bumzo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    ugh you really want to replace your beautiful ACDs with that ugly piece of crap pictured above??????
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    The Apple Cinema Display is VESA mount compliant. He could buy a stand and keep the panels.
     
  9. bradleykavin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #9
    I truthfully just need screen space to multi task, and I just think apple displays are way over priced. It also bugs me looking at me desk and seeing two different size monitors next to each other and how its organized.
     
  10. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #10
    Yep, I have two 23" ACD's, except one is vertically mounted and the other is horizontal :)
     
  11. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #11
    what software are you using to rotate the screen orientation on the vertically mounted 23?
     
  12. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #12
    You can rotate your screen in the Displays panel of the System Preferences, can't you?
     
  13. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    yep
     
  14. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #14
    Yep, that's what it is. Now something truly nifty would be a usb stick with an accelerometer that I could plug into the back that would result in automatic rotation as rotate the screen :p
     
  15. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #15
    can anyone post a screen grab of the rotate function? how come i ain't ever seen it before
     
  16. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #16
    Here you go :)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #17
    [​IMG]

    edit
    serious? hahahaaa
     
  18. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  19. POLOgt macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #19
    I would keep the Apple cinema displays,
    I do not think you will be able to profit much from selling them and then buying new. If you go with eBay: you will have to pay the fees then when you buy again you will have to pay tax and/or shipping.

    The Ergotron monitor stands are a really great product line.
    Ergotron Desk Mounts
    You can get an adapter to attach it to the desk or have it as a stand, The desk mount will definitely clear up the desk space. depending on what size your third monitor will be, You should be able to use the Triple Monitor Stand, then it will depend on your configuration (vertical and horizontal alignments).

    I use their quad for my 30" and two 20" displays:
    [​IMG]

    For your Apple Displays you will need the Apple VESA mount kit for each monitor:
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9649G/A?fnode=MTY1NDA5OQ&mco=MjE0NTg4Ng


    The best monitor size is 24" monitor, they are the best value for the amount of continuous space. I would get the 30" if you are willing to spend the money. Dell refurbs are a great value! My friends have had a great experience with them.
     
  20. phatmuther macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Agreed, I'd stick with the ACD's, just pick up 3 20"s.
     
  21. spacetycho macrumors member

    spacetycho

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #21

    don't you want WIDESCREEN displays?

    if you have a 20 and a 23, buy another 20 and put the 23 in the middle. it would look great. no room on the desk. buy a shelf and put it above the desk. maybe wall mount them?
     
  22. NightSailor macrumors 6502

    NightSailor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #22
    I'd like to see a picture of that.
     
  23. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #23
    Was playing a game ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  24. rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #24
    New Cinema Display 24" Monitor VESA Mount.

    I have two wall-mounted 23" ACD monitors and want to upgrade to the new 24" ACDs. But it looks like that may be impossible since the new displays seem to have no VESA mount adaptors. The stand can not be detached from the monitor without taking it all apart. It there a way to VESA mount the new ACD 24" Monitors? Very annoying if I can not upgrade for this setup. Thanks.
     
  25. rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #25
    Three Monitors on Mac Pro running Windows Apps.

    Hi BradleyKavin,
    That looks like a Windows trading platform on the screens.
    Are you running VMware Fusion for the three monitors?
     

Share This Page