Multiple NICs on 2014 Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by unplugme71, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. unplugme71 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    For those of you with advanced networks, how do you handle multiple NICs with your Mac Mini.

    My network currently consists of several VLANs.

    Management
    Servers
    Storage
    Backup

    The Mac Mini seems limited to 3 ethernet ports (internal, and 2x TB to Ethernet). I'd like to keep the Storage and Backup on separate cables. I guess I could make the internal network use the Servers network and create a VLAN for Management but I'd prefer to keep everything on separate cables. Does OS X 10.10 still have USB to Ethernet drivers? I saw the USB to Ethernet adapter is no longer supported on Mac Mini that Apple sells. The management can be on the 10/100 network.
     
  2. Capsicum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #2
  3. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    I guess I'll ask the question: Why?

    Schedule backups after hours so it doesn't interfere with the rest of the activities of the server. The management of the server should only be done periodically so why would it need its own NIC. What are you doing as "server" capabilities that requires its own NIC? Most of my servers are limited by WAN bandwidth or by the content they are serving (ie even high bit rate video uses less bandwidth than one realizes). If you are truly concerned about your NIC and bandwidth necessary, just get one thunderbolt enclosure and slap a 10gb card in it. That's more bandwidth than even 4 go NICs.
     
  4. unplugme71 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    I might just create a virtual network for management on the LAN side as I don't log in often enough to reduce performance and it'll cut out having to install 3rd party NIC software.

    My storage and backup are on two separate physical networks. So I need 2 cables for iSCSI. Backups are critical so they run continuously.
     
  5. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #5
    Why? Those seem like things that wouldn't need isolation. Usually isolation is for security reasons or bandwidth. But I can't think what would be sucking so much bandwidth.

    Just helping to check if maybe he problem is overcomplicated for your true needs.
     
  6. unplugme71 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Technically, neither has to be isolated nor redundant, but I'm doing it because I want to.
     
  7. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #7
    Ok. "I want to" is the third good reason!
     
  8. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #8
    You can use more than 2 ethernet cards on the TB ports if you use TB docks but that'll become quite expensive. Or you could go 10GbE plus VLANs :cool:
     

Share This Page