Multiple Provisional Profiles ?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Fritzables, Aug 19, 2013.

  1. Fritzables macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane AUSTRALIA
    #1
    I few months ago my Profiles and Certificates had expired and needed to renew them all.

    I use XCode to develop on one iPad2 so I'm guessing I should only have a single Provisional Profile.

    When going into Organiser and take a look at the Provisional Profiles for that device, I'm finding 4 (see graphic).

    Taking a look on the iPad I can see the 4 profiles.

    I have heard that it is not good to have mutiple profiles fir a single device.

    Is it just a matter of deleteing them all and leave the most current??


    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dantastic macrumors 6502a

    dantastic

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #2
    No problem having several profiles for a device. As a contractor I've about 50 or so most of the time.

    You can safely delete what you don't want. You can easily recreate a profile at any time in the future if you need to :)
     
  3. Fritzables thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane AUSTRALIA
    #3
    Hey dantastic,

    Thanks for the response.
    Seeing that it's not an issue, I won't worry about it.

    Thanks Again

    Pete
     
  4. Duncan C macrumors 6502a

    Duncan C

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #4
    Having multiple different certificates or profiles is not a problem, but Xcode gets confused when you have duplicate certificates.

    I'm not sure how it handles duplicates of profiles. I would suggest deleting all but the most current version of an identical profile.
     
  5. xArtx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #5
    If you updated your yearly certificate, and a device was provisioned with
    the old certificate, then I think you have to build those apps again.
    There was some period when the year ticked over, where after deleting all but the latest provision,
    some of my apps worked on the device, and some didn't, and that was solved by building all apps again.
     

Share This Page