Multiple TimeCapsules

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by aicul, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. aicul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #1
    Hi,

    I've connected 2 TC to my network and since then some of the backups fail. There is no obvious systematic behaviour, just sometimes backups will not work for days, then they start again without nothing being done.

    I'm wondering if this is because I have more than 1 TC connected to the network (they have different names), or something else.

    Anyone else have more than 1 TC on their network, does it work ?

    advice welcome
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    I have no TC, but I use APX+USB drive and Mac Mini OS X Server as my backup destinations. The setup works per se, but I am experiencing the dreaded "TM verified ... and needs to create new backup" error with rather random intervals. On APX drive only! Never seeon one on OS X Server!
    I attribute this so far to the AirPort Extreme as not being fully TM-certified device.
    PS When your backups fail, do you get the same message or does it resume just when it left off?
     
  3. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I have 4 TC's on my network. All are wired using 1GbE back to the router. All have their wireless turned off. All 4 are kept in a secure location away from the computers.

    I have 3 iMacs (one for each of us living in the house) each with a dedicated TC.

    I also have an extra TC that is used for just the laptops in the house. The only reason I have this one is because at one point, I needed to upgrade one of the iMac TCs from 2TB to 3TB... so I used the orphaned 2TB TC as an extra for all the MBAs.

    None of the TCs have ever skipped a heartbeat.

    /Jim
     
  4. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    The only time I had a problem with my two TCs is when the drive went bad in one. They are both hard wired to the network, their wireless is turned off as there is less heat build up. One TC has a 3TB USB drive hanging off of it.

    My experience, over the years, is that the TC is a solid NAS but quirky router/wireless access point. The AE is a solid router/wireless access point but quirky NAS. Once I separated the functions several years ago, they have been solid devices. Dunno if updates in the newer generations changed the behavior I observed.
     
  5. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #5
    I currently have two 2TB TCs. I have one setup as the router and then the other one hardwired to the first one (had ethernet cables (two of them) ran to the other side of the house)).

    I then set both up with the same SSIDs for the 5GHz and the 2.4GHz and the Guest wireless network. On the second one, I disabled the NAT option.

    It's been working great and the coverage is strong throughout the entire house (2000sf). I can see the device switch between the first and second TC via the Airport Utility. (Refreshing it.)
     

Share This Page