Multiple user accounts Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ChronoYu, Dec 30, 2007.

1. ChronoYu macrumors member

Hi, I'm new to using Mac, and I have a few questions about multiple user accounts, because the iMac we just got will be used as a family computer and we've each made our own accounts on it.

1. When installing new programs, is there a way to install it so that all the users can also use the program too without having to install it again on their account separately? Does it pretty much depend on the program in question?

2. I've been trying to add a hotmail account to Mail, but I need a httpmail plugin. So I've just downloaded it, but it says that it will only install it on the current user. Isn't there a way to install it on all users without having to do so separately for each account? 'Cause installing it separately for each account will take space right? As much space as I do have, I'd rather not just waste any.. ^_^" :)

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

1. By default apps are installed in the /Applications folder which is accessible to all users.

2. I would imagine that httpmail has a size measure in kb, so installing several times will be negligible

3. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

Lixivial

1. I'm not aware of any application installers installing to ~/Applications rather than /Applications

2. You can install Mail bundles to /Library/Mail/Bundles/ (if the directory doesn't exist, you can safely create it) for global user access.

4. ChronoYu thread starter macrumors member

I googled mail bundles and how to make them and it sounds really confusing. Seeing that I don't completely understand Mac yet, I don't think it would be a wise decision for me to attempt it.

One more question.

How about updates? Does it apply for all users? Or when updating should I go to the administrator's account to do so?

5. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

Lixivial